California Salad Bowl Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Extremely tasty salad! The dressing is unique and makes all the difference. I've made this for several different groups of company and always got requests for the recipe (including my very picky, non-salad eating teenage sister-in-law). We either use black olives or omit them altogether. Also do not add the dressing until you're ready to serve as the corn chips will soak it up and get soggy. It still tastes great, but the texture isn't so nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hula_Kahlua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This is one of my favorite salads. Served it for Christmas dinner and it was a hit with everyone. Then served it as a meal, adding a can of rinsed and drained black beans for protein. I will be adding this to my short list of mainstay recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
ok...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
This was not ok the first time I made it because I did not use the chips. It needs the crunch - the salad was a success the second time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2008
This was SO GOOD my husband wolfed all his down and ate half of mine (wasn't hungry enough to eat the whole thing, it was so huge)! Just a couple changes: a plain ol' whisk was fine to combine ingredients, 1/4 c only mayo, only a few drops tabasco, no oil, no garlic clove (just some garlic powder), no olives (altho I would have liked some black ones), no chips (I couldn't have eaten them if I wanted to!)... I carefully spooned on dressing over top of the assembled salad -- the dressing could very easily have been a very scumptious dip. I could see me making this again even as a dip with some salsa on the side. mmmm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Exceptional dish. With so much great flavor, it's hard to believe it's really a salad and has lots of nutritious ingredients. It's also got wonderful texture and color, and it is great as a dinner entree or a party salad. My favorite part about making this recipe was that I could guesstimate most measurements so I didn't have to fill up the sink with dirty measuring cups and spoons. I will be making this one again and again for its vibrant flavor, and I'll be sharing it with those family members who don't usually enjoy salad--I know they'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
the dressing was to creamy, mor like a sandwich spread. Next time I would use half the mayo, add one more avacado and add some vineger to thin it out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin in cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saugus, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Very good. Will make again. The better olive oil you have, the better the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
The dressing was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
As much as I wanted to Love this salad. I didn't. Taste like a taco salad with your meat & the dressing was very slimy- Oily. I think I'll stick to a 7 layer salad or something else. Thanks for the post though. I like trying new things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTJEN33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Greek Salad I

Summer vegetables dressed in a tangy, refreshing vinaigrette.

Harvest Salad

A yummy salad to enjoy all year round.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States