California Salad Bowl Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
I added some fresh cilantro to this. The flavor of the cilantro made this salad even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
Wow, we loved this salad! I would highly recommend trying it. I used fat free mayo and made the dressing in the food processor, and didn't have any problem with the dressing that some people mentioned. I used three hearts of Romaine and could have stood just a bit more dressing for that amount of salad, but it was a great change from traditional taco salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
This salad is great... but very rich! I almost cut up an extra avacado to put in the salad, but as I discovered, that would have been overkill. This salad would make a wonderful lunch with some chicken cut up in it... its filling, and tastes awesome. I used black olives instead of green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
This dressing is soooo good! My instinct told me to add cilantro & I'm not at all sorry that I did! Simple, but tasty. We used black olives because my little olive queen ate all of the green ;) We also used croutons instead of the corn chips. Thanks Lori!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
Yum! We had a dinner party yesterday and this was a nice light, yet very flavorful salad that complimented my chicken franchaise and fetticini alfredo beautifully. The avacado dressing is a little different and absolutely delish! I'm happy to say that all the kids went nuts over this. Thanks so much Lori!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
Size does matter! We had this for New Year's Eve (with Baja Baked Potatoes and Ribeye Steaks with Soy and Ginger Marinade, by the way - both from Allrecipes.com). The dressing was a bit out of proportion to the salad (not enoughlettuce to dressing). And the dressing was too mayonaisey for my taste (I think because the recipe called for "1 avocado" and mine was a small avocado). My recommendation would be to make sure to have extra lettuce for backup- and to use 2 small or one large avocado---or half the mayonaise and add more to taste. Another trick for working with the avocado is to use a rotation-type cheese grater (like a "Salad Shooter") to "grate" it into the blender, expecially if it is not soft. It is much easier to get the dressing smoothe, since it is particularly thick dressing, and the chunks of avocado tend to stick to the sides. (If you have a food processor, this is probably not a problem.)I have used this method for guacamole with great satisfaction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
This was a nice twist from your typical taco salad...nice taste! The dressing was unique and we all liked it alot. I also added some fresh, sliced mushrooms. Hardly any left!! Thanks Lori!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
Great salad! The dressing is WONDERFUL! Impress your family and friends with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOTTAHESS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
This salad was very good and different. My boyfriend loved the lime-flavored chips, and the guacamole-like dressing. I thought it was good, but I could taste more mayo in the dressing than I'd like. I'll make this again, probably with less mayo and more avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Caesar Salad Supreme

See how to make a classic salad with garlic croutons and a creamy dressing.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Seven-Layer Salad

This is a salad your guests will enjoy seeing just as much as eating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States