California Roll Sushi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Great Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yelsi
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Pretty good, but definitely too much mayo. A good, classic California roll, super refreshing and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Easy and delicious. Great for first time making sushi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
This recipe was easier than I expected, but requires changes for it to work (at least for me). As prepared, this recipe only made 4 rolls, and the rice was spread too thinly even then. The rice seasoning also had way too much vinegar for my liking. So here's what I recommend for a recipe that makes 6 rolls using 2 cups rice (this requires spreading the rice quite thinly, so take your time) Rice flavoring (goes into the rice after it's cooked, as described in the recipe): 1/4 cup (4 tbsp) rice vinegar 1/4 cup (4 tbsp) water 2 tbsp white sugar 1 tsp salt Filling: - 3/8 cup (6 tbsp) imitation crab meat - 2 small avocados - 1 small cucumber - Mayonnaise is optional. I left it out and the rolls tasted very good nonetheless. Once the rice is ready (cooked, combined with the vinegar mixture, and cooled), split it into 6 equal portions and spread each portion as evenly as you can onto the nori. Split the filling into 6 equal portions as well, prior to adding individual portions to each roll. Otherwise, follow the original recipe. And don't forget to get some Japanese soy sauce, fresh or pickled ginger, and wasabi or horseradish if you like to have something salty and spicy to dip your rolls into!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
We gobbled this up before I could even finish rolling them. They may not be fancy but they are quite delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristenmarie211

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Just like the "real thing"! I made the first batch inside out (nori on the outside) because I forgot to flip them, but honestly, it tastes the same regardless, and it's much easier to make them inside out, so that's how I'll make them from now on. I also shaved the cukes with a veggie peeler, which gave me thin, long strands. It's faster and easier than cutting those tiny spears, and all you need to do is put a few strips on each roll; the length is just right. And finally, I used the recipe on the package of sushi rice, which has different concentrations of vinegar/sugar and also uses salt. I'll be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
For the rice i put a couple teaspoon of salt and instead of mayo i used cream cheese, tasted amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
My kids and I enjoyed this but for some reason the flavoring of the rice bothered me a little. I think it's because I could taste the rice over everything else. Otherwise a good, simple and enjoyable treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Thank you for the easy to follow instructions. My CA rolls look very pretty. After learning how to make this, I don't think I would want to buy CA rolls from restaurants anymore. The ingredients are so simple and easy to prepare. Most of the time is spent cooking the rice and cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifertse10

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I agree with a previous review, this is a great recipe for the beginner cook. I also took the advice of others & added salt to the vinegar. I also used real crab meat with a dash of sesame oil and chopped water chestnuts to give crunch, I added mayo to taste. Cooking is about creativity and doing what u like & enjoying what u create. Release the inner chef and go with it. Thank you for those who have shared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mareadona

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a California Roll

Learn the secrets to rolling the perfect California roll.

Types of Sushi

Get a quick introduction to beautiful, delicious sushi.

How to Prepare Nigiri Sushi

See how to prepare beautiful and delicious nigiri sushi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States