California Roll Sushi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
not bad, but traditional sushi rice should have a bit of salt in it. the correct method is to add about 1 tsp salt per three cups of rice, you dissolve the salt with the sugar in the vinegar, so for one cup rice, it would be about 1/3 tsp salt. otherwise, this would be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Way too much mayonnaise ratio to finely chopped crabmeat. It drowned out the crabmeat taste. Instead of 1/4 cup mayo, I'd put 1-1.5 tbsp for 1/2 a cup of crabmeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlogAlotAliCat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
The first time I make these, they came out rather large but everyone loved them. I took the recommendation and used less mayo. Then I added alittle siracha hot sauce to the mayo to make them Spicy California rolls. Very tasty!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dining Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: East Granby, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This is a very good basic recipe. I make my sushi a little bit differently, though. First, I do not use any mayo with my crab - I like the flavour on its own. Also, I like to lay slices of cucumber alongside the crab and avacado - makes for a bit of a crunch. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sopenia
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I also added 1 tsp of salt to the vinegar. Fish roe adds not only flavor but color. Just used enough mayo to hold the crabmeat together so it won´t overpower the other ingredients. Removed the seeds from the cucumber and be generous with the sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sopenia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I agree with a previous review, this is a great recipe for the beginner cook. I also took the advice of others & added salt to the vinegar. I also used real crab meat with a dash of sesame oil and chopped water chestnuts to give crunch, I added mayo to taste. Cooking is about creativity and doing what u like & enjoying what u create. Release the inner chef and go with it. Thank you for those who have shared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mareadona

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Sushi doesn't have mayonnaise. You could also substitute another vegetable instead of avocado and only use one; two is a bit much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
delish, if you have not tried this recipe......try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
this is a good basic sushi recipe, we didnt make the exact recipe yet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Just like the "real thing"! I made the first batch inside out (nori on the outside) because I forgot to flip them, but honestly, it tastes the same regardless, and it's much easier to make them inside out, so that's how I'll make them from now on. I also shaved the cukes with a veggie peeler, which gave me thin, long strands. It's faster and easier than cutting those tiny spears, and all you need to do is put a few strips on each roll; the length is just right. And finally, I used the recipe on the package of sushi rice, which has different concentrations of vinegar/sugar and also uses salt. I'll be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a California Roll

Learn the secrets to rolling the perfect California roll.

Types of Sushi

Get a quick introduction to beautiful, delicious sushi.

How to Prepare Nigiri Sushi

See how to prepare beautiful and delicious nigiri sushi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States