California Roll Sushi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I agree with a previous review, this is a great recipe for the beginner cook. I also took the advice of others & added salt to the vinegar. I also used real crab meat with a dash of sesame oil and chopped water chestnuts to give crunch, I added mayo to taste. Cooking is about creativity and doing what u like & enjoying what u create. Release the inner chef and go with it. Thank you for those who have shared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mareadona

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This was my very first time making sushi and I felt that they came out pretty well. I found that there was not nearly enough rice for the amount of nori sheets stated in the recipe (maybe I laid it on a little too heavy). I ended up making only half (4 rolls). I also found that the crameat filling amount was not adequate. I used whipped cream cheese & a little mayo for the surimi mixture & added some hot sauce to spice it up. All and all, a fair effort with decent results. The recipe was easy to follow and I'm sure I'll become more adept with practice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
love the taste it's great!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
These were really good and very filling. I cut my recipe down to only make 2 servings since I would be the only one eating them. Did taste like too much mayo. I even added a bit more crab to mine bc I could see the mayo was overpowering. I've never rolled sushi before so my rolls were kinda thick but that didn't mess with the overall taste. I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyOfMarine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I HAVE MADE THIS ABOUT 3 OR 4 TIMES NOW AND IT'S GREAT,THE ONLY THING I DID DIFFERENT WAS INSTEAD OF PLAIN RICE VINEGAR I USED SEASONED RICE VINEGAR(B/C THAT'S ALL I HAD) AND I AM GLAD I DID, IT WAS A HIT WITH MY HUSBAND WHO HAS TRIED MINE WHEN I ORDER IT WHEN WE GO OUT AND DOESN'T USUALLY LIKE SUSHI,NOW HE HAS COME HOME TWICE IN ONE WEEK ASKING ME TO MAKE MORE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTLSFAW

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
delish, if you have not tried this recipe......try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Good base recipe for people who want to try making sushi for the first time. Although, the rice is better with Mirin instead of sugar in my opinion, and no mayonnaise, to me it just doesn't belong. And instead of two slices of avocado I would add a slice of folded egg omelette, shitake mushroom, or cucumber. overall good recipe though. And it's nice to finally see someone mentioning the way the rice should be prepared, rinsing and all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaynsMum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
this is a good basic sushi recipe, we didnt make the exact recipe yet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This is a very good basic recipe. I make my sushi a little bit differently, though. First, I do not use any mayo with my crab - I like the flavour on its own. Also, I like to lay slices of cucumber alongside the crab and avacado - makes for a bit of a crunch. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Sushi doesn't have mayonnaise. You could also substitute another vegetable instead of avocado and only use one; two is a bit much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a California Roll

Learn the secrets to rolling the perfect California roll.

Types of Sushi

Get a quick introduction to beautiful, delicious sushi.

How to Prepare Nigiri Sushi

See how to prepare beautiful and delicious nigiri sushi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States