California Roll Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I followed everyone else's suggestion about the nori strips which really gave it a more "authentic" roll flavor. The dressing was fabulous! I could have drank it LOL. I chopped everything and left in bowls and we assembled the salad to our liking. Shrimp, faux crab, mango, macadamian nuts, avocado, nori strips, rice, and the dressing. It was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tearsfromleslie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tipler, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
I omitted the lettuce and added the Nori as suggested by others, and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
This salad was very original and really does taste like a California Roll...which is exactly what I was craving! I found wasabi powder with the spices and used the flake style crab. EDIT: The salad is much better right after making and doesn't taste near as good the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelleag05

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Though I liked the base combination, I had serious reservations when I tasted the dressing before adding. It tasted too vinegary, but I was reluctant to add anything until I tried it on the salad itself. So rather than tossing the entire salad with it, I did individual portions. The over-acidity of the dressing almost vanished completely when it was on the base; it's the combination that makes this recipe nice. I wouldn't call it amazing, though my daughter loved it. But it certainly made a nice change. I used romaine instead of iceberg, and seaweed for a little more authenticity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Oh wow! I love California rolls and crave them often. This recipe is so easy and way cheaper than running out 3 times a week to get them and tastes exactly (if not better) than the real thing. I did add a little crushed up Nori (seaweed) and to be honest I never got around to making the dressing at all, just used a little soy sauce as a dressing. Yum! Thanks so much for posting this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIEJUNKIE
Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Not bad. In place of the lettuce, I used Nori strips, but that was the only change I made. My coworkers weren't too crazy about it, but I thought it was alright. It was fun to try something different, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
Tasted just like a Calf. Roll. I did use the iceberg lettuce, but cut into chunks and added seaweed strips to the top just before serving. I did double the dressing and added ginger to the rice. This was so different and delicious. I am craving it now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
This was FANTASTIC! We made this with nori strips instead of lettuce and added 3/4 cup of edamame. Will be making it again. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Awesome! Great summer salad. I doubled the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Great new salad! I changed things and took suggestions from others... I used Romaine lettuce, put sesame seeds in the dressing, and since I didn't have wasabi powder, I used wasabi paste instead. I also used either basmati or long grain rice, since japanese rice or short grain can be too sticky to use. I put nori strips on top and fried wonton strips. Definitely a salad I would bring to a potluck to bring something different. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a California Roll

Learn the secrets to rolling the perfect California roll.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States