California Roll Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
There is a good concept in this salad-just not as written (for me anyway). Maybe I'm just not a fan of rice-based salads, or maybe there was too much rice and not enough salad; but for some reason the rice just overpowered the salad. The dressing is delicious, and I would double next time so I had some to pour on before and during serving. Will try again, but am feeling the need to tinker with this a bit to make it something I'll love eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
This is one of my favorite salads. It is so easy, different and tasty. I use the wasabi paste in a tube from the oriental food aisle or sometimes by the fresh salad section. I also add some sugared ginger sprinkled on top, and some grated ginger in the dressing. Sushi is all about the ginger for me! I usually don't mix in the lettuce, but put the salad on a bed of lettuce for people to take if they want. I also tried adding the sushi seaweed sheets chopped up and mixed in- did not like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sciwizpc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
So this is not a good dish to bring to potlucks. It is delish and was a hit but in my opinion it is probably alot better when prepared and eatten right away. By the end of the day the bottom of the container was full of liquid so the chance of leftovers is not happening. I made this dish last night but didn't add the romaine until right before I left for work this morning. I right away knew this dish was not going to keep for long as it got alittle mushy. Again big hit and I'm being critical because I love to cook and no how to cook so everything is taste and presentation to me. Overall great dish just again I would not advise work functions or anything that requires this dish to sit for a period of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Excellent! Be careful with the wasabi...you can always add more, but darn hard to 'dilute' once its added. This is a wonderful recipe; easy, fast, tasty! Perfect for my 12y.o. niece to make for her friends when they come over to do 'girl stuff' and have a sleep-over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I have become obsessed with this recipe and take it to any group event I'm invited to. Absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe and it did tast like a California roll, but I preferred it with more rice and an extra dollop of soy sauce just before I ate it. (since I like to dunk my roll in soy sauce before eating)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIKATANIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Elizabethton, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
This is a great idea. I really like the sushi roll flavor. However, if you pour the dressing over the entire salad including the rice it looses something. I liked it best with the dressing was on the greens and the rice was just dolloped on top. That being said, this is a great recipe with lots of potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Gillis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I really wanted to enjoy this as I love California rolls. Unfortunately, while the flavors in the original were mimicked relatively well, it's better suited to an actual sushi roll. I think the mayonnaise may have been my least favorite addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
After reading all of the great reviews I was really excited about trying this one. Unfortunately, I walked away disappointed. The salad tasted very bland and did not have anywhere close to enough dressing. I'd recommend using a different recipe or adding a few more ingredients to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Davis Freeberg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
My whole family thought this was amazing! It tastes just like the real thing! My teen daughter took the leftovers to school for lunch the next day and is requesting that I make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a California Roll

Learn the secrets to rolling the perfect California roll.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States