California Roll Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Really good. I had to sub cider vinegar because I only had seasoned rice vinegar, but it worked out fine. Next time I'll make it as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IANKRIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Yum, yum, and yum. This is such a great idea! I only had red leaf lettuce so used about 1/2 head of that. I sliced up some nori and grated some fresh ginger as well. I only used 1 tsp mayo, and I had wasabi paste, only used 1 tsp as well. It was wonderful! The only thing is I think we were missing that pickled ginger taste so I may add that the next time! It could do with a little more rice too I think. But 5 stars for the idea alone! Genius.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
PERFECT!!!!!! Love this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Excellent! We did not use lettuce in our salad as it was a side for 3 very hungry people. Loved the dressing. Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
This was SOOOO good. I surprised my husband with it last night and when I brought it to him, he says 'WOW whats this - this smells like Sakora's (sp?)'. We loved it. I did not use the lettuce, but did put in about three leafs of shredded romaine; added two crumbled seaweed rolls, lots of toasted sesame seeds, and grated ginger. I also doubled the sauce,but did not use as much vinegar as called for. I did not have the powder and used a Wasabi Sauce I had, but it needed more hotness, so then we both individually added more real wasabi and a little salt to bring out all the flavors. Without the lettuce, it will not feed 6 more like 3 or 4 small eaters; so just be careful if you do not add the lettuce - allow for less servings. I would add more rice, just to make it stretch for more servings. But the flavor was wonderful. I had a very small bowl left over for lunch today and it was good. I think that without lettuce it was fine to serve the next day. Thank You for ths great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carousel-Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
In stead of the wasabi paste and sesame oil I used TJ's Wasabi Sesame Drizzlin Oil. This was delish! Will be making this again, and soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Very tasty - goes stale fast - so eat immediately
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATEE56

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
I was a little worried about this recipe after some of the more recent reviews, but it is excellent. Made exactly as is, but topped it with some toasted nori and used wasabi paste rather than powder. As in any other salad, it's best to eat it right after its been tossed with the dressing, which we did. It was absolutely awesome and will have a heavy rotation at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RDZELLMER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Loved it! Perfect as-is. And it looks like the picture adds nori on top... which i think would be a great addition! I'll be making this over & over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARGOKIDD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Addicted. Really, I can't leave it alone after I've made it, and I've taken it to potlucks and it seems to have the same affect on others. I have subsequently tweaked a couple things (substitutions if I was out of something), but the original is the best. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a California Roll

Learn the secrets to rolling the perfect California roll.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States