California Roll Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This salad is filling and YUMMY! Instead of using wasabi paste I added wasabi peas to the salad which gave it a nice crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This was a great and easy salad! Finally, I can enjoy CA rolls without the work! I used way more rice than it called for: about 2 cups sushi rice. I will also cut back on the sugar a smidge next time. Other than that I will be making this a lot! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Awesome Recipe. I added a teaspoon more of mayo and teaspoon of Sriracha sauce to the dressing. I received rave reviews at a cookout. I think next time I will substitute brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdiionna
Home Town: Guilderland, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Absolutely delicious! This salad will definitely help to curb your sushi craving if you can't get to a Japanese restaurant. We grew up in large cities with lots of great sushi places but now live in rural New Mexico, where there is no sushi at all. So we make this every time we have the urge! There are a few things I would suggest to improve the ease and taste: 1. We don't add the lettuce leaves, we just make it a rice, veggie and surimi salad. 2. We always add about a teaspoon each of black and toasted white sesame seeds for a pretty and tasty touch. 3. According to your taste, matchstick carrots are another nice touch for added color and flavor. You won't be disappointed with this dish if you like California rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mutchie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I was impressed by how much like a California Roll this salad tasted like! If serving as a side dish, this makes way more than 6 servings. Simple, tasty and refreshing, thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Very good! We enjoyed this as our main dish for dinner. Look forward to making it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHERA1088

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I love making sushi at home (anything without the raw fish). This dish is fantastic. I did take someone else's suggestion and substituted the lettuce for a sheet of shredded nori I mixed in. Any one who loves sushi or one of those rice bowls restaurants serve (chirashi) would really like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CELINAK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Great salad! My boyfriend and I loved this dish! We made the following additions: dried nori strips, sesame seeds and flying fish roe. This tastes just like a california roll. The salad dressing really does the trick. Great for a picnics and potlucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aznsouris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
So delicious and creative! Definitely a keeper! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loves2Cook
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I think this is one of my favorite finds on this site, for many reasons. It tastes very good, it's something different from our usual potato or macaroni salad. And I thought the light green cucumbers and avocado mixed with the salmony pink color of the crab looked really pretty, very spring like. I added toasted sesame seeds on top and omitted the lettuce. Somehow I miscalculated the amount of rice so I was low on that ingredient, but other than that I followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a California Roll

Learn the secrets to rolling the perfect California roll.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States