California Roll Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
If only for the dressing, (I made many substitutions to the basic salad due to the ingredients I had on hand), this recipe is 5 stars! What a great substitution to regular old salad! I was very skeptical of the rice, but it added a great touch. Also, used shrimp from the freezer in place of the . Yumalicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
I made half the recipe for the two of us and we scarfed the whole thing. I served it with grilled corn and Grilled Asian Chicken from this site. With or without lettuce this salad is a keeper! I did grate a bit of ginger into the dressing and garnished with sesame seeds and nori as ELLIEGIRL1 suggested. I'm going to make the full 6 servings next week and serve it as lunch for two. I'll bet there won't be much in the way of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SherryL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bryan M
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Will use slightly less vinegar next time, maybe a bit more soy sauce. Otherwise loved it! Definitely needs the shredded nori and sesame seeds for authentic California roll taste, and Japanese mayo tastes better than regular mayo in this recipe. Thanks for sharing! Great idea :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryan M

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
As is, with no changes to the recipe, I thought this was just ok (I noticed a lot of other reviews gave it a higher rating, but with changes). Too much vinegar for my taste, especially after it had marinated in the fridge overnight. I ate some of the leftovers the next day and the acid was intense. I'd add more rice if I were to make it again, maybe more sugar/mayo. Definitely didn't fix my sushi craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by just_jam
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
wow these DID taste just like california rolls.. we totally loved it.. halved the sugar.. used wasabi paste instead of powder and upped the soy, mayo, and sesame oil to compensate.. ate these alongside fried wontons.. ty so much for the recipe! UPDATE: this time we omitted the lettuce and sugar, used cured salmon for the crabmeat, still used the wasabi paste and eyeballed the measurements with the mayo, soy, vinegar, and sesame oil.. SO SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
While this had a different and interesting taste I felt like the rice and avocado got lost in the salad. Hubby liked it but I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Newark, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
OMG this was incredible! The only thing I did different was to use Kikkoman Wasabi Sauce in place of the wasabi powder (could not find the powder in the store). I ate 3 platefuls! My husband was lucky I didn't eat more, I really could have eaten the entire bowl without his help. Definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by knamos85

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Parkville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
This was everything I hoped it would be and then some! Delicious! It absolutely satisfied my craving for sushi. I used only half of the wasabi powder and I could not even really taste it. Next time, I will use the full amount. I also shredded up one sheet of Nori seaweed and it added an authenticity that I think I would have missed if I left it out. Thank you so much for this great recipe--this is a perfect summer time supper. We will be making it again, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Made exactly as written...LOVED IT! I do roll my own sushi and what a great alternative to get the quick sushi fix...next time I will use the small salad salad shrimp(I dont care for the imitation crab). Thank you for the great summer recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixiestix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
YUM, LOVE THIS! I did as others and used seaweed in place of the lettuce (I found a sesame oil roasted seaweed @ the grocery store), and that went perfectly. I only had 1 avocado, so that's all I used and I cut everything into small chunks just because. The dressing is wonderful and compliments the salad nicely. This really does taste like a California Roll!!!! This is gonna be a new salad staple @ our house~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a California Roll

Learn the secrets to rolling the perfect California roll.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States