California Roll Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
As suggested, I skipped the lettuce; but otherwise followed. Yum. I had my doubts. How could it ...? It does. I used the full 2t wasabi &, while it wasn't super hot, it detracted from the other flavors. I'll use 1 1/4 - 1 1/2t next time. Second day, it got watery even using an English cuc. Very surprised the avocado didn't turn, but it was fine. Suggestion: Be sure your avocado is ripe & firm - not "guacamole ready". It still tasted fine, but using both too soft avocado & 2t wasabi, it was that color (not so pretty anymore). How great is it that the package of imitation crab has four cups - two recipes of this?! Great, I say! :D :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Hard to rate this recipe. We loved the crab and rice part (I made actual sushi rice), but the dressing was really not good. It could have been my wasabi powder but it was really bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
This is very good. I added Nori as others have suggested, and I also added about a tablespoon of pickled ginger cut into thin slivers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lnldad

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
If only for the dressing, (I made many substitutions to the basic salad due to the ingredients I had on hand), this recipe is 5 stars! What a great substitution to regular old salad! I was very skeptical of the rice, but it added a great touch. Also, used shrimp from the freezer in place of the . Yumalicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi Moffit Burr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
I made half the recipe for the two of us and we scarfed the whole thing. I served it with grilled corn and Grilled Asian Chicken from this site. With or without lettuce this salad is a keeper! I did grate a bit of ginger into the dressing and garnished with sesame seeds and nori as ELLIEGIRL1 suggested. I'm going to make the full 6 servings next week and serve it as lunch for two. I'll bet there won't be much in the way of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SherryL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bryan M
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Will use slightly less vinegar next time, maybe a bit more soy sauce. Otherwise loved it! Definitely needs the shredded nori and sesame seeds for authentic California roll taste, and Japanese mayo tastes better than regular mayo in this recipe. Thanks for sharing! Great idea :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryan M

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
As is, with no changes to the recipe, I thought this was just ok (I noticed a lot of other reviews gave it a higher rating, but with changes). Too much vinegar for my taste, especially after it had marinated in the fridge overnight. I ate some of the leftovers the next day and the acid was intense. I'd add more rice if I were to make it again, maybe more sugar/mayo. Definitely didn't fix my sushi craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by just_jam
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
wow these DID taste just like california rolls.. we totally loved it.. halved the sugar.. used wasabi paste instead of powder and upped the soy, mayo, and sesame oil to compensate.. ate these alongside fried wontons.. ty so much for the recipe! UPDATE: this time we omitted the lettuce and sugar, used cured salmon for the crabmeat, still used the wasabi paste and eyeballed the measurements with the mayo, soy, vinegar, and sesame oil.. SO SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
While this had a different and interesting taste I felt like the rice and avocado got lost in the salad. Hubby liked it but I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Newark, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
OMG this was incredible! The only thing I did different was to use Kikkoman Wasabi Sauce in place of the wasabi powder (could not find the powder in the store). I ate 3 platefuls! My husband was lucky I didn't eat more, I really could have eaten the entire bowl without his help. Definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by knamos85

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Parkville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make a California Roll

Learn the secrets to rolling the perfect California roll.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States