California Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
I've made this twice now, and followed the recipe except for including the artichoke hearts. I really enjoyed it, and so did my whole family. The second time I added a little more garlic because we like garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Seemed a little zingy with the artichokes and then the vinegar. I only added 2 eggs. This definitely makes more than 4 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Very Yummy and Different! I agree the garlic definitely makes it. The croutons add an element of surprise.. I used red potatoes and it turned out delicious! will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Very good change of pace for potato salad! I doubled the dressing and added a little bacon and chives (but it probably didn't need them). Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Made this for my 30th Birthday party bbq and I just loved it . My guests were really surprised with the artichoke, it was a good surprise. Really happy I went with something a little different, changed the standard bbq food and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I made this last night to go with Sloppy Joes and it was absolutely fantastic. The recipe didn't specify potato size, and since mine were small, I used 5 instead of 4. I also left out the croutons, partly because there were only two of us and I knew we wouldn't eat it all, and partly because I'm not a huge crouton fan. The result was SO GOOD. I had to wrap it up just so I wouldn't eat it until dinner. Later in the evening, when I was putting things away, I found myself snacking on this again. And I'm already looking forward to eating more. It is heavy on artichokes, so I wouldn't recommend making this unless you're okay with that, but if you do like artichokes, make this and dig in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
I was looking for a way to use up some extra croutons and found this recipe. It was definitely different. If I made it again I would use less Dijon mustard or a weaker Dijon mustard. But the reason I only gave it 4 stars was because I followed the suggestion to make it the night before and let the flavors mix. This made the croutons mushy. I would recommend making the night before to let the flavors mix, but I wouldn’t add the croutons until you were about to serve it. If the croutons aren’t crunchy, then I don’t see the point in adding them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I did this recipe for a 4th of July cookout. Everyone raved about it. What a hit!!!! I did the eggs and potatoes at the same time to save time. I also let it set in the frig overnight. I made it for 6 servings but it was enough for 8 people because I like adding the following: 6 slices Bacon (well cooked & chopped) 1/4 cup fresh Red Onion 1/4 cup fresh Green Pepper YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
This was wonderful. I did leave out the croutons because I knew we wouldn't eat it all, but they would be great added in I'm sure. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
We're split on this one. Definitely different and a change of pace from normal potato salads. If you like artichoke hearts, you'll like this. I used light mayo and doubled the sauce portion (not the garlic) because we like saucy potato salad. Needed a decent amount of salt and pepper (artichokes were from Trader Joe's and had no salt). Makes more than 4 servings as a side - more like 6 healthy servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States