California Melt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Yummy little guys! I did mine on whole grain & flax english muffins - I thought it might need a sturdy base. After discussing this sandwich with a couple of people from the recipe exchange (Hi!), we decided it needed some 'schmear,' so I used a little basil mayo, which was excellent. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
I'd give this sandwich a 4.5* rating for being quick delicious and healthy. The only change I made was to the mushrooms. I sauteed them until lightly browned, then added about 1/2 tsp of Chipotle puree and a splash of dark tequila (yes tequila!)to the pan. Let the alcohol evaporate and voila, this recipe just got kicked up a notch. I'll make this often. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LC
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Easy, no fuss, great taste! I find the almonds optional & salt is subject to the type of bread used. I lightly toasted multigrain bread with a little butter & find the taste just right although a light sprinkle of salt or mayo would probably enhance it further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I really liked this recipe but thought it needed a bit of something. Next time I may try adding a bit of mayo on the toasting the bread/buns and salt and pepper on the tomato before. I loved the fact that it is a healthy sandwich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
Healthy, easy, and good flavor, but just not ENOUGH flavor for me as written. I'm not sure if I'll try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
what a great vegetarian sandwich! too bad I'm a downright carnivore, I added some microwavable chicken strips and substituted some extra virgin olive oil instead of almonds, but it still tasted great! healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Super delicious! I forgot the sliced almonds, but it was still good. I used all organic ingriedents and served with some organic potatoes. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knightstown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Great recipe. The melts taste good, they're good for you, and they're easy to make. No surprises here - the sandwiches taste just as you'd expect them to. If you like avocado, mushrooms, tomatoes, and cheese, this one is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Delicious and healthy. I think next time I might serve the tomato on the side and lightly saute the mushrooms. I added a squirt of lemon because I love lemon with avocado. Thanks for the quick and flavourful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
This was a nice, light sandwich. Very easy to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

California Grilled Veggie Sandwich

See how to make a 5-star sandwich with grilled vegetables on focaccia bread.

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

How to Make a California Roll

Learn the secrets to rolling the perfect California roll.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States