California Melt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Loved it! I used my homemade pesto with olive oil on toasted bread, then mozzarella instead of swiss..deeeelish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Sunbury, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I sauteed the mushrooms in a little olive oil. I placed a slice of avocado and tomato on top of a toasted whole wheat English muffin, added some sauteed mushrooms, and chopped walnuts, then drizzled a little balsamic vinegar over the sandwich (eliminates the need for mayo). I added the cheese and one slice of crumbled fried bacon (may use pre-packaged real bacon bits) and put in the oven to broil as instructed. Makes a great breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Gomen Diaz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Fast, easy and delicious! I omitted the almonds, but did everything else as said, and my mom and I loved it! I agree with the other comments on sautéing the mushrooms beforehand, but even without, they were great! Will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UniCook
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Great lil idea for lunch I added sliced turkey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISANLAUREN
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Flavors taste so good together. Also great in a wrap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Citrus Punch
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
This was delicious. I added a little olive oil mayo with basil and sauteed the mushrooms first. Even my picky kids gobbled this right up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Yummy little guys! I did mine on whole grain & flax english muffins - I thought it might need a sturdy base. After discussing this sandwich with a couple of people from the recipe exchange (Hi!), we decided it needed some 'schmear,' so I used a little basil mayo, which was excellent. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
I'd give this sandwich a 4.5* rating for being quick delicious and healthy. The only change I made was to the mushrooms. I sauteed them until lightly browned, then added about 1/2 tsp of Chipotle puree and a splash of dark tequila (yes tequila!)to the pan. Let the alcohol evaporate and voila, this recipe just got kicked up a notch. I'll make this often. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LC
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Easy, no fuss, great taste! I find the almonds optional & salt is subject to the type of bread used. I lightly toasted multigrain bread with a little butter & find the taste just right although a light sprinkle of salt or mayo would probably enhance it further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I really liked this recipe but thought it needed a bit of something. Next time I may try adding a bit of mayo on the toasting the bread/buns and salt and pepper on the tomato before. I loved the fact that it is a healthy sandwich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

California Grilled Veggie Sandwich

See how to make a 5-star sandwich with grilled vegetables on focaccia bread.

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

How to Make a California Roll

Learn the secrets to rolling the perfect California roll.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States