California Melt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Altho being meat lovers we topped this ontop of burgers. Sauted the mushrooms with alittle onion and a clove of garlic, then chopped. Mashed the avocado with seasonings. Excellent flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This is really a great simple sandwich. I use jalapeno cheese bagels for heat, herb cream cheese, and thin slice red onion instead of the mushrooms. I also use provolone cheese. The cream cheese makes it ooey gooey good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimeefer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Whoa these were killer!! I've made these a couple times..the breads I've used vary from whole grain roles to ciabatta bread...it seems anything goes! I always saute the mushrooms first, sometimes I use cheddar or provolone, all depends on what I have in. But this is now my favorite way to eat avocado! Thanks Ornery! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This is a great, easy recipe. I have been making this for years except I make mine with a hearty french bread, tomatoes, avocado, bacon and top it off with provolone cheese. My kids call it an ABC sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Loved it! I used my homemade pesto with olive oil on toasted bread, then mozzarella instead of swiss..deeeelish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Sunbury, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I sauteed the mushrooms in a little olive oil. I placed a slice of avocado and tomato on top of a toasted whole wheat English muffin, added some sauteed mushrooms, and chopped walnuts, then drizzled a little balsamic vinegar over the sandwich (eliminates the need for mayo). I added the cheese and one slice of crumbled fried bacon (may use pre-packaged real bacon bits) and put in the oven to broil as instructed. Makes a great breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Gomen Diaz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Fast, easy and delicious! I omitted the almonds, but did everything else as said, and my mom and I loved it! I agree with the other comments on sautéing the mushrooms beforehand, but even without, they were great! Will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UniCook
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Great lil idea for lunch I added sliced turkey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISANLAUREN
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Flavors taste so good together. Also great in a wrap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Citrus Punch
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
This was delicious. I added a little olive oil mayo with basil and sauteed the mushrooms first. Even my picky kids gobbled this right up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

California Grilled Veggie Sandwich

See how to make a 5-star sandwich with grilled vegetables on focaccia bread.

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

How to Make a California Roll

Learn the secrets to rolling the perfect California roll.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States