California Melt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
MMMM, what tasty little creations! I decided to try this while hubby was out of town, he would not be too keen on this for dinner! I scaled the recipe down for just myself, but made 2 mini sandwiches. Like others, I sauteed my mushrooms in some garlic powder and fresh ground pepper. I used 2 small pieces of marbled rye bread, put dijon on one and a little mayo on the other. I left out the almonds as I only had whole ones. I really would have liked to have spread with hummus, but didn't have any made. Next time, I will do that for sure as I think that combo will be fantastic! I never would have thought to put these simple items together, but just loved it, they were excellent and I can't wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This was delicious! Followed other reviewers' advice and sauted the mushrooms with some garlic powder before putting the sandwiches together. The wife loved them, so I'll definetly be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Delicious and easy! I spread a thin layer of hummus on the bread and layered the mushrooms on top of that so they wouldn't fall out. Dijon mustard would work well too. I also salted the avocado and tomato. I used alfalfa sprouts instead of almonds, but I'll try it with the almonds at some point. Avocado and mushroom is one of my favorite combos, and the Swiss just adds that extra special something. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This has quickly become one of my favourite lunches of all time. Personally, i sauté the mushrooms in some butter and garlic for added flavour. I live in philadelphia so fresh baked hoagie rolls from my local bakery are my bread of choice (good bread is ALWAYS the key to a good sandwich). I just love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wizard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I made this for my husband thinking he would like something healthy and wholesome, but it was definitely lacking in flavor. He liked all of the ingredients but it needs a meat item to tie it all together. I guess for a vegetarian, its a great option but for meat lovers, I would suggest using an alternative recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Pretty bland....need to add imaginative ingredients
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Served these delectable sandwiches over double fiber bread and served two slices per person. Made a delicious, filling and very satisfying meal. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rarehorses

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Nice, simple sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arrdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
These were great although I did make a few changes to suit my family's taste. I omitted the mushrooms (I love them, husband and kids do not) added a little ranch dressing and used provolone instead of swiss cheese. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
So delicious! I made this for lunch today and was so anxious to eat it, I forgot the mushrooms. Next time I'll add them and I'm sure it will be even better. I loved the crunch from the almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

California Grilled Veggie Sandwich

See how to make a 5-star sandwich with grilled vegetables on focaccia bread.

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

How to Make a California Roll

Learn the secrets to rolling the perfect California roll.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States