California Melt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
YUm I loved it! my husband said it was great too (although I added hot sauce to his). I like to make this when I am baking since my oven is already hot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
My husband and I loved this recipe eventhough I made a few changes. I sautéed the mushrooms with some onion and garlic cloves using cooking spray, I used sliced Havarti instead of Swiss and added a few slices of turkey. It was delicious! We had it with a small bowl of soup and some watermelon for a nice light dinner. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Love the crunch from the toasted almonds!!! Did everything exact except adding some seasoning on the tomatoes. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Fabulous sandwich that's easy to put together for a quick lunch! I added a bit of Hellman's light mayo to the toasted bread. I also seasoned my tomato with a bit of salt and cracked black pepper. I added some basil leaves as well. Overall, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I thought this was great. Very quick, easy, and healthy meal to fix after work. I read another review that said it needed some "schmear," and I agree with this. Next time, I may mash the avocados to make a spread to put on the bread first, or maybe dijon mustard. It just needed a sauce of some sort to bring it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I was just looking for something to do with 1 avocado, and I stumbled upon this recipe. It is lunchtime here, so I'd thought I'd give it a go. I did not have any mushrooms, so I had to omit those, but that was my only change. I really enjoyed this, though I thought it could use a little salt and pepper, but that's my personal preference. This made a great, healthy lunch! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Skipped the mushrooms & didn't have any sliced almonds around, so I smashed some whole almonds and it tasted delicious. My wife loved it too. Super quick, easy & delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
This recipe is delish, easy and quick. I didn't use the nuts but I added turkey (from the deli) instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
This is so different from the typical sandwich I eat. But, I love this one! It is so flavorful. I have made it with english muffins and flat bread. Be sure and toast is as the instructions say for the best results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elyria, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
MMMM, what tasty little creations! I decided to try this while hubby was out of town, he would not be too keen on this for dinner! I scaled the recipe down for just myself, but made 2 mini sandwiches. Like others, I sauteed my mushrooms in some garlic powder and fresh ground pepper. I used 2 small pieces of marbled rye bread, put dijon on one and a little mayo on the other. I left out the almonds as I only had whole ones. I really would have liked to have spread with hummus, but didn't have any made. Next time, I will do that for sure as I think that combo will be fantastic! I never would have thought to put these simple items together, but just loved it, they were excellent and I can't wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 21-30 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

California Grilled Veggie Sandwich

See how to make a 5-star sandwich with grilled vegetables on focaccia bread.

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

How to Make a California Roll

Learn the secrets to rolling the perfect California roll.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States