California Melt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I've had this recipe in my RB forever and finally made it today after my morning walk. I followed the recipe as directed just had no almonds. It was certainly Californian. A nice combination of flavors, just the bread was dry and needed some kind of moist flavoring. I did lightly salt and pepper the avocado. I did try a little dab of Dijon while eating, but that overpowered the creamy avocado taste. I like the idea of hummus, but not something I always have on hand. A little spiced up light mayo might be nice. I am going to give this another try, because the combination is really great and tasty. However will use some sauteed mushrooms with a little garlic and basil. This is a great concept...just need to find that extra something it needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I just made these. My husband and I loved them for a Sunday lunch. Here are the changes I made: used whole wheat sliced bread (I didn't have anything fancier). A very thin scraping of light mayo on each slice, followed by three slices of avocado, some sauteed sliced red onion and mushrooms, a thin smear of dijon mustard (I tried it with and without the mustard and liked it better with - but use a light hand); sliced roma tomatoes followed by a hefty helping of freshly cracked black pepper. A teaspoon of crumbled tomato basil on each slice and a teaspoon of blanched slivered almonds. Toasted in our toaster oven. These were delicious, relatively healthful and a DEFINITE make-again. Thank you for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
YUm I loved it! my husband said it was great too (although I added hot sauce to his). I like to make this when I am baking since my oven is already hot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
My husband and I loved this recipe eventhough I made a few changes. I sautéed the mushrooms with some onion and garlic cloves using cooking spray, I used sliced Havarti instead of Swiss and added a few slices of turkey. It was delicious! We had it with a small bowl of soup and some watermelon for a nice light dinner. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Love the crunch from the toasted almonds!!! Did everything exact except adding some seasoning on the tomatoes. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Fabulous sandwich that's easy to put together for a quick lunch! I added a bit of Hellman's light mayo to the toasted bread. I also seasoned my tomato with a bit of salt and cracked black pepper. I added some basil leaves as well. Overall, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I thought this was great. Very quick, easy, and healthy meal to fix after work. I read another review that said it needed some "schmear," and I agree with this. Next time, I may mash the avocados to make a spread to put on the bread first, or maybe dijon mustard. It just needed a sauce of some sort to bring it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I was just looking for something to do with 1 avocado, and I stumbled upon this recipe. It is lunchtime here, so I'd thought I'd give it a go. I did not have any mushrooms, so I had to omit those, but that was my only change. I really enjoyed this, though I thought it could use a little salt and pepper, but that's my personal preference. This made a great, healthy lunch! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Skipped the mushrooms & didn't have any sliced almonds around, so I smashed some whole almonds and it tasted delicious. My wife loved it too. Super quick, easy & delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
This recipe is delish, easy and quick. I didn't use the nuts but I added turkey (from the deli) instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

California Grilled Veggie Sandwich

See how to make a 5-star sandwich with grilled vegetables on focaccia bread.

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

How to Make a California Roll

Learn the secrets to rolling the perfect California roll.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States