California Melt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Absolutely fantastic! I sautéed the mushrooms with a little butter before layering it on top of the avocado. Used Gauda with cheese and olives. Skipped the tomatoes and almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiren K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This recipe was a good base but had some room for improvement. I took others advice and sautéed the mushrooms beforehand; I used a healthy pat of butter and some thyme. When I bit into it my initial thought was that it tasted kind of...bland. Next time I will use a different, probably saltier, cheese instead of swiss and I will probably add sliced turkey too. But overall definitely a recipe worth keeping with a few adjustments!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mayumi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
I used multi grain English Muffins, garden fresh tomatoes, Alpine Lace Swiss Cheese, skipped the mushrooms. This was a very enjoyable; will make again when a quick lunch is needed. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Amazing sandwich. I put it on an English muffin and omitted the almonds. I also took others suggestions and served it with a little basil mayo (homemade) on the side! Quick, easy and delicious. I was worried about the mushrooms but because the sandwich was broiled, they cooked up just great! Definitely recommend!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Excellent. Also great as a breakfast with an over easy or poached egg instead of almonds. Mmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
AMAZING! These are a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by autumnrose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Very good. My boyfriend enjoyed it thoroughly! Wouldn't change anything on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Awesome! I am going to try this in a whole grain wrap w/ a ceasar dressing and romaine lettuce leaves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
These were good, but nothing spectacular. I added sliced turkey to them at the base and put extra cheese at the top. Excellent ideas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I make these all of the time! They're so easy and quick to put together. I agree with other reviewers though - definitely saute the mushrooms for a little something extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarlyrae

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

California Grilled Veggie Sandwich

See how to make a 5-star sandwich with grilled vegetables on focaccia bread.

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

How to Make a California Roll

Learn the secrets to rolling the perfect California roll.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States