California Melt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
good, but missing something. I put balsamic vinegar on the bread and it was better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Iles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
Very little flavor. Maybe this would be better with thick, bakery bread and fresh tomatoes from the garden but would still need spices or additional ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Very good,use garden fresh tomatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
This is a great recipe for a quick and easy lunch. I used bagel thins, and added bacon to my husband's but not mine. As per the advice of other reviewers, I sauteed the mushrooms in advance of broiling the sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
i liked this club. this would be great with a horseradish spread: 1 teaspoon of Bubbies or your favorite horseradish and mix with 1/4 cup of sour cream and salt and pepper to taste....yummmm. Although I am not vegetarian, I do love "Ground chicken breast patties" grilled. This would make a fabulous addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise McGillivray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KianaK
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
This was a great healthy summer brunch! I changed it up a little with jarlesburg cheese and left out the mushrooms and almonds for sprouts. I also added a little salt and pepper to the top. It was tasty and a crowd pleaser :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KianaK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
This makes a great light dinner and has become a favorite of the family... Is easy tasty and healthy....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This is bland. I love everything in this sandwich when taken separately and my husband, God bless him, pulled this recipe just to try something new. We're pretty healthy, been vegetarians for years, but this just fell flat for us. I think if you put chipotle or a pesto or something to make it zing a bit more, then it would be decent. Not great. Decent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I added whipped cream cheese with chives before layering anything and it made all the difference. Very nice lite Sammy with white wine or champagne for a summer lunch with girl friends. Thanks Ornery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This is really a great little sandwich. I really like it with the mushrooms sauteed, like many others. It also needs a little spread (I like mayo) and some sprouts of some kind on top. A slice of turkey is also really good on this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

California Grilled Veggie Sandwich

See how to make a 5-star sandwich with grilled vegetables on focaccia bread.

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

How to Make a California Roll

Learn the secrets to rolling the perfect California roll.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States