California Melt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Altho being meat lovers we topped this ontop of burgers. Sauted the mushrooms with alittle onion and a clove of garlic, then chopped. Mashed the avocado with seasonings. Excellent flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This is really a great simple sandwich. I use jalapeno cheese bagels for heat, herb cream cheese, and thin slice red onion instead of the mushrooms. I also use provolone cheese. The cream cheese makes it ooey gooey good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimeefer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Whoa these were killer!! I've made these a couple times..the breads I've used vary from whole grain roles to ciabatta bread...it seems anything goes! I always saute the mushrooms first, sometimes I use cheddar or provolone, all depends on what I have in. But this is now my favorite way to eat avocado! Thanks Ornery! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This is a great, easy recipe. I have been making this for years except I make mine with a hearty french bread, tomatoes, avocado, bacon and top it off with provolone cheese. My kids call it an ABC sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Loved it! I used my homemade pesto with olive oil on toasted bread, then mozzarella instead of swiss..deeeelish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Sunbury, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I sauteed the mushrooms in a little olive oil. I placed a slice of avocado and tomato on top of a toasted whole wheat English muffin, added some sauteed mushrooms, and chopped walnuts, then drizzled a little balsamic vinegar over the sandwich (eliminates the need for mayo). I added the cheese and one slice of crumbled fried bacon (may use pre-packaged real bacon bits) and put in the oven to broil as instructed. Makes a great breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Gomen Diaz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Fast, easy and delicious! I omitted the almonds, but did everything else as said, and my mom and I loved it! I agree with the other comments on sautéing the mushrooms beforehand, but even without, they were great! Will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UniCook
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Great lil idea for lunch I added sliced turkey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISANLAUREN
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Flavors taste so good together. Also great in a wrap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Citrus Punch
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
This was delicious. I added a little olive oil mayo with basil and sauteed the mushrooms first. Even my picky kids gobbled this right up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

California Grilled Veggie Sandwich

See how to make a 5-star sandwich with grilled vegetables on focaccia bread.

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

How to Make a California Roll

Learn the secrets to rolling the perfect California roll.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States