California Melt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Excellent. Also great as a breakfast with an over easy or poached egg instead of almonds. Mmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
AMAZING! These are a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by autumnrose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Very good. My boyfriend enjoyed it thoroughly! Wouldn't change anything on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Awesome! I am going to try this in a whole grain wrap w/ a ceasar dressing and romaine lettuce leaves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
These were good, but nothing spectacular. I added sliced turkey to them at the base and put extra cheese at the top. Excellent ideas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by remorgan2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I make these all of the time! They're so easy and quick to put together. I agree with other reviewers though - definitely saute the mushrooms for a little something extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarlyrae

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Yum!!!! This is easy and delicious. Great for a quick dinner that still looks and tastes impressive. Add a caesar salad for some crunch. Also, I used kalamata olive artisan bread from the bakery because I think good bread in a dish like this makes all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuperVern

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I didn't care very much for this. I like all of the ingredients, but they didn't seem to go together. The flavors and textures did not combine for some reason. The only changes I made was using a 100 calorie bagel thin half and cut the amount of almonds in half and it was plenty. Overall, it was just very dry! The only thing that made this a melt was that there was a piece of cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I've had this recipe in my RB forever and finally made it today after my morning walk. I followed the recipe as directed just had no almonds. It was certainly Californian. A nice combination of flavors, just the bread was dry and needed some kind of moist flavoring. I did lightly salt and pepper the avocado. I did try a little dab of Dijon while eating, but that overpowered the creamy avocado taste. I like the idea of hummus, but not something I always have on hand. A little spiced up light mayo might be nice. I am going to give this another try, because the combination is really great and tasty. However will use some sauteed mushrooms with a little garlic and basil. This is a great concept...just need to find that extra something it needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I just made these. My husband and I loved them for a Sunday lunch. Here are the changes I made: used whole wheat sliced bread (I didn't have anything fancier). A very thin scraping of light mayo on each slice, followed by three slices of avocado, some sauteed sliced red onion and mushrooms, a thin smear of dijon mustard (I tried it with and without the mustard and liked it better with - but use a light hand); sliced roma tomatoes followed by a hefty helping of freshly cracked black pepper. A teaspoon of crumbled tomato basil on each slice and a teaspoon of blanched slivered almonds. Toasted in our toaster oven. These were delicious, relatively healthful and a DEFINITE make-again. Thank you for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

California Grilled Veggie Sandwich

See how to make a 5-star sandwich with grilled vegetables on focaccia bread.

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

How to Make a California Roll

Learn the secrets to rolling the perfect California roll.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States