California Melt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I added whipped cream cheese with chives before layering anything and it made all the difference. Very nice lite Sammy with white wine or champagne for a summer lunch with girl friends. Thanks Ornery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This is really a great little sandwich. I really like it with the mushrooms sauteed, like many others. It also needs a little spread (I like mayo) and some sprouts of some kind on top. A slice of turkey is also really good on this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
This is a good vegetarian sandwich. I did some changes. I used chiabata bread, added mayo, sautéed a mix of mushrooms and onion I had leftover. I did put lemon and salt on the avacado which I was worried about but I'm glad I did. I used pepper jack on one cheddar in another and a mix of both on the other. All were good. Next time I think I will use spicy mayo. Cream cheese in place of mayo would be good too. If you have to have meat turkey can be easily added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess124

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2013
This sandwich was great! I changed a few things but it was amazing. My husband who doesn't like sandwiches asked if we could make these a weekly dinner menu item. My changes were, I added a thin cut chicken breast and a sauteed the mushrooms a little to make them tender. There are a lot of things you can add to this recipe but it was amazing and we didn't feel gross from all the fat it was perfect for a warm day when nothing heavy sounds good. I cannot praise this recipe enough, THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Yummy! I substituted provolone for the swiss and spread hummus on bread before layering other ingredients. Will have to try adding some deli turkey next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hixercise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Absolutely fantastic! I sautéed the mushrooms with a little butter before layering it on top of the avocado. Used Gauda with cheese and olives. Skipped the tomatoes and almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiren K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This recipe was a good base but had some room for improvement. I took others advice and sautéed the mushrooms beforehand; I used a healthy pat of butter and some thyme. When I bit into it my initial thought was that it tasted kind of...bland. Next time I will use a different, probably saltier, cheese instead of swiss and I will probably add sliced turkey too. But overall definitely a recipe worth keeping with a few adjustments!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mayumi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
I used multi grain English Muffins, garden fresh tomatoes, Alpine Lace Swiss Cheese, skipped the mushrooms. This was a very enjoyable; will make again when a quick lunch is needed. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Amazing sandwich. I put it on an English muffin and omitted the almonds. I also took others suggestions and served it with a little basil mayo (homemade) on the side! Quick, easy and delicious. I was worried about the mushrooms but because the sandwich was broiled, they cooked up just great! Definitely recommend!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Excellent. Also great as a breakfast with an over easy or poached egg instead of almonds. Mmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

California Grilled Veggie Sandwich

See how to make a 5-star sandwich with grilled vegetables on focaccia bread.

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

How to Make a California Roll

Learn the secrets to rolling the perfect California roll.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States