California Melt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
i liked this club. this would be great with a horseradish spread: 1 teaspoon of Bubbies or your favorite horseradish and mix with 1/4 cup of sour cream and salt and pepper to taste....yummmm. Although I am not vegetarian, I do love "Ground chicken breast patties" grilled. This would make a fabulous addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise McGillivray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KianaK
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
This was a great healthy summer brunch! I changed it up a little with jarlesburg cheese and left out the mushrooms and almonds for sprouts. I also added a little salt and pepper to the top. It was tasty and a crowd pleaser :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KianaK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
This makes a great light dinner and has become a favorite of the family... Is easy tasty and healthy....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This is bland. I love everything in this sandwich when taken separately and my husband, God bless him, pulled this recipe just to try something new. We're pretty healthy, been vegetarians for years, but this just fell flat for us. I think if you put chipotle or a pesto or something to make it zing a bit more, then it would be decent. Not great. Decent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I added whipped cream cheese with chives before layering anything and it made all the difference. Very nice lite Sammy with white wine or champagne for a summer lunch with girl friends. Thanks Ornery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This is really a great little sandwich. I really like it with the mushrooms sauteed, like many others. It also needs a little spread (I like mayo) and some sprouts of some kind on top. A slice of turkey is also really good on this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
This is a good vegetarian sandwich. I did some changes. I used chiabata bread, added mayo, sautéed a mix of mushrooms and onion I had leftover. I did put lemon and salt on the avacado which I was worried about but I'm glad I did. I used pepper jack on one cheddar in another and a mix of both on the other. All were good. Next time I think I will use spicy mayo. Cream cheese in place of mayo would be good too. If you have to have meat turkey can be easily added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess124

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2013
This sandwich was great! I changed a few things but it was amazing. My husband who doesn't like sandwiches asked if we could make these a weekly dinner menu item. My changes were, I added a thin cut chicken breast and a sauteed the mushrooms a little to make them tender. There are a lot of things you can add to this recipe but it was amazing and we didn't feel gross from all the fat it was perfect for a warm day when nothing heavy sounds good. I cannot praise this recipe enough, THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Yummy! I substituted provolone for the swiss and spread hummus on bread before layering other ingredients. Will have to try adding some deli turkey next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hixercise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Absolutely fantastic! I sautéed the mushrooms with a little butter before layering it on top of the avocado. Used Gauda with cheese and olives. Skipped the tomatoes and almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiren K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

California Grilled Veggie Sandwich

See how to make a 5-star sandwich with grilled vegetables on focaccia bread.

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

How to Make a California Roll

Learn the secrets to rolling the perfect California roll.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States