California Jalapeno Trout Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
I didn't realize that this dish called for whole trout or a grill, so I spread the pepper/mango mixture over filets, wrapped them in aluminum foil and broiled them. It turned out well, though the cilantro got really mushy and tasted like canned spinach. Perhaps next time I'll wait until the fish is halfway cooked before putting the pepper/mango mixture on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I have served fresh mango salsa with other fish before - char, salmon - but this is the first time stuffing and baking. Turned out well. Saved some of the fresh salsa to serve on the side just in case. Good stuff. About 3 1/2 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mighty moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dino
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
Made this with Brook trout I caught in Canada. It was fantastic. My wife said it was the best fish she has ever had. The Jalapeno added just enough heat and the mango did not make it taste too sweet. I served it with garlic cream sauced Fettuccini with fresh spinach. Great combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Great recipe! Used rainbow trout caught ice fishing, but didn't have access to fresh mango, so I used canned pineapple instead and the result was fantastic. Hope to try mango the next time. Served with wild rice. My boyfriend and I are avid fishermen but he loves to eat fish and I am learning to like it. This recipe was enjoyed by both of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dakota, Illinois, USA
Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
Great Recipe. Wouldn't change a thing. Used Ruby Trout. Forgot to add the jalapenos, but luckily had some jalapeno hotsauce and added it at the end. Made some roasted corn and one of those Lipton Thai Noodles with it. It was great. Hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nuremberg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I want to try this recipe since it has such great reviews but as I was compiling my shopping list I saw the recipe called for olive oil, which isn't in the recipe steps. Then as I was going through the steps, I saw lime juice, which isn't in the ingredient list. Then I went through the reviews and everyone was raving about the mango, which isn't listed anywhere. If anyone can explain the lime juice, olive oil and mango, I'd appreciate it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
Very tastey - the fish was tender and delicious and the compote was equally as good. No doubt this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
This was fantastic! I just found a new favorite fish recipe. I used vidalia onion instead of the green ones. When I make it again, I'll use more mango.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nongard1
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
This was VERY good. I made it exactly as the instructions said, and it could not have been better! I love the mango/jalepeno mix...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nongard1

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Absolutely excellent. I used only 1 fish (19" Dollie, so technically a char I guess), so mixed the ingredients in a lower quantity, but the result was fantastic. I've known for years how great mango goes with fish, but the jalapenos gave it the perfect kick I've been missing with the other trout I cooked. The charcoal flavor was there, but not overbearing, and another bonus is the skin sticks to the foil so it pulls right off. Overall it lacked nothing. I will definitely be using this recipe for future fish fries. Thank-you very much for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Jalapeno Hamburgers

Delicious hamburgers with a cheesy, spicy surprise in the center.

California Grilled Veggie Sandwich

See how to make a 5-star sandwich with grilled vegetables on focaccia bread.

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States