California Italian Wedding Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
Very good base. Used 1 lb beef and doubled the herbs. Added chopped celery and chopped carrots; sauté in olive oil. I cooked orzo 6 minutes and added to the soup after adding all ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
This is the best soup ever! I add lemon juice and use Minor's chicken base for the stock. My son calls this the meatball soup and asks for it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
This is one of my favorite recipes. It smells amazing in the house whike this is cooking, perfect for cold winter days. So easy to make and so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SelfObsessed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: North York, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ckforshort@gmail.com
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Came across this recipe last minute on my way to the grocery store. Let me just say this is delicious. Doubled the recipe for the meatballs because I have a very hungry 6'5" boyfriend and wanted something more filling. I also added a bit more orzo. It became more of a stew then a soup. Also didn't have any fresh herbs so I used all dried and also used fresh spinach instead. Will make this again soon. This is a must try!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I really enjoyed this, as did my nephews (ages 10 and 12). Killer meat balls. Maybe I would add a couple more veggies to the mix but overall great. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig Hymson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
This is a very easy and tasty recipe. I changed the basil to fresh cilantro. I also used half a cup of fresh parmesan instead of the dry kind. Also, the first time I made it, the ozro soaked up the majority of the broth, so the second time I used 7 cups of broths.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
We enjoyed this! My husband and I really liked the addition of the lemon zest. I did add some carrots and celery, just to bulk it up a bit (just sweated them in a little EVOO for about five minutes before adding the broth). Tasty soup, served with some crusty baguettes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I used 1/2 lb of lean ground meat and 1/2 lb of ground pork for the meatballs. Spinach. I omitted the lemon zest. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ren1375
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I have been counting calories and love soup so when I stumbled upon this I was so excited to try it! I was leary about the lemon zest, but to my surprise I loved it and feel it gives it a nice "clean" taste appeal! It was SO GOOD I made it twice in 2 wks! :) I think the meatballs are excellent and used ground turkey instead of ground beef. I added 1lb of meat to make 24 meatballs and chopped a little more spinach...bc why not right? Then added cut up carrots for extra color, and another couple cups of broth (just to accommodate my "extras") and those are the only adjustments I made purely on my own taste. Seriously excellent and I will no doubt be craving this soup quite often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Good soup and easy. Lemon zest is a great addition. The store wasn't carrying escarole or any good substitute, so i tried spinach one time (good) and kale another (not as good). If you use spinach don't let it cook for long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States