California Italian Wedding Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
I have been making this recipe for about 4 years now and consider it the best version of wedding soup I have ever tasted. I make a double batch of meatballs from ground sirloin, then bake them at 350 for about 12-15 minutes to get rid of the grease. I then freeze half of them for another day. Definitely use the fresh basil and onion in the meatballs, and the lemon zest in the soup. They are what set this recipe apart from the usual salty wedding soups. It also helps to use homemade or organic chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
This is good but I tried it the 2nd time with just pork meatballs and it is much tastier. Chicken and pork mixed is also tastier than the ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
Wow! I have never rated a recipe before, but I randomly came across this one and thought the ingredients sounded good. While it was cooking, my husband turned up his nose, and questioned where I got the idea from. When I served it, he coldn't stop raving, and not a drop was left. It is luscious, delectable and definitely one our new comfort foods! Don't hesitate, make it today. I would have given it six stars if it had been an option! (PS I used the spinach instead of the escarole, and we served it with a generous splash of lemon juice on each bowl)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
This is a light soup that is perfect with deli sandwiches for a quick and easy summer meal. I used ground turkey in place of ground beef and added the juice of half a lemon to the pot. As others suggested, I made the meatballs as small as possible and used spinach. Even my fussy teen-aged daughter loved it. This is a great soup to serve when you want to impress someone--it looks like a lot more work would have gone into preparing it, but it's really simple and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brecksville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
Wonderful soup - the lemon zest is mandatory! I used all the fresh herbs as recommended, plus added more chopped green onions into the soup itself. Used fresh Italian sausage for great flavor; no escarole available so had to use spinach; added 1 med cubed red potato (skin on) + 1/2 cup shredded carrots, then since it was a touch salty (may replace some broth with water next time), I added 1/2 cup milk and my family raved about it and a couple asked for the recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOLCEVITA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
I have been making Italian wedding soup for years and everyone loves it, yes it is so easy to make, but the whole idea of flavoring the chicken broth is to cook the meatballs directly in the broth, being as tiny as they are they cook very quickly. I use lemon pepper if I don't have lomon it helps brighten up the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILHERB

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
This is a great recipe, however, I changed it slightly by using half lean pork meat and half lean ground beef and the flavour was immensly better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
DELICIOUS! Fresh herbs are a must to give this such flavor. My meatballs were 1/2" and I baked them at 350 for 10 minutes to release the grease. I like this recipe for the ease of making it in such a short time. The only thing missing was those toasted cheddar bread cubes. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
This soup was excellent! I've never had Italian Wedding Soup anywhere but Atlanta Bread Co., so I was excited to see this recipe. It was extremely easy to make - the only time consuming part being rolling the meatballs. As per other's suggestions, I also recommend making the meatballs as small as you can roll them and have them stay together. This recipe served 4 without ANY left-overs, so adjust accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2004
Delicious! I was looking for something to make using ground beef because I was sick of hamburgers. What a great recipe! Used canned chicken broth so don't add any salt. Next time, I think I will add some garlic. I cannot imagine not having garlic in an Italian dish so I will include that as well. Added fresh ground black pepper too. When serving, I added shredded parmesan cheese as well as a generous squeezing of fresh lemon juice. This was very simple to prepare and looked like something very hard to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States