California Italian Wedding Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Absolutely wonderful! I added carrots and celery to mine, but it would have been just as good without it. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Great recipe! Follow the instructions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIC2YOUNG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This was fantastic, and SO easy. We actually had Italian seasoned chicken meatballs with asiago in the freezer from Costco and we just used those instead. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NYPD K9 COP
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
amazing soup! The meatballs are perfect and the lemon is a must! I doubled the broth and put 1 1/2 times orzo in the soup. Thicken the soup with a couple dashes of parmesan cheese at the finish.. A+++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYPD K9 COP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
This one gets 4 stars with my alterations based on other reviews. We really loved the final result! Some people baked their meatballs before adding to the broth, however I agree that the juices from the meat cooking in the broth really adds to the flavor of the overall soup - besides, it's extra lean so the fat content is greatly reduced. My meatballs were 1/2" round, and it made about 40. Changes made were: Add 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes to the meatball mix; before adding broth to the pot, saute 1 chopped leek, 2 chopped ribs of celery, 1 chopped zucchini, and 2 chopped carrots in butter/oil; after the veggies have softened, add a couple minced cloves of garlic, cooking until fragrant, then add 8 cups of broth; when the soup is almost done, add 2 teaspoons of poultry seasoning and salt & pepper to taste; stack a small pile of baby spinach leaves and chop into thin strips, place strips in the bottom of each bowl and ladle the soup over (this will prevent the spinach from wilting too much in the overall batch).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIANKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
The meatballs are excellent with the fresh basil but after the soup was finished, even with the wonderful addition of the lemon zest, I felt the flavor was somewhat flat. I do use a low sodium chicken broth, so perhaps that made a difference. After spiking the soup with a bit of Penzey’s chicken soup base and adding some cooked carrots for both flavor and presentation, the end result was a soup we really enjoyed. It was even better the day after it was made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
We loved this i change it up a lil i had meatballs in freezer so i used them and then i also used Acini Di Pepe noddles instead it was really good! made so much that i took some to my parents and they loved it very good recipe thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I was looking for a new healthy meal and found this. The only thing I altered was replacing the ground beef with ground turkey breast. I also didn't have a whole lemon the second time around so I just used a couple teaspoons of lemon juice and it worked just as well. It's now my new favorite and leftovers last me all week for lunch! Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bskaf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
So easy and what a great taste. I added more Parm and orzo. The family loved it!! They want me to make it at least once a week!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEE61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
This is really, really good and easy to make. Definately use the fresh basil, parsley and lemon as described. Great as leftovers in lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Best Italian Sausage Soup

Hearty, flavorful soup with Italian sausage, vegetables, and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States