California Italian Wedding Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I made this recipe to a 't' with the exception of swapping out basil for lovage and thyme (what I had in my garden) and using slightly less chicken stock. I had to add a lot more liquid to the stock and ended up with a plain broth and relatively tasty meatballs. If I made this again I would have to add herbs and possibly veggies (carrots, potatoes, celery). Thank you for sharing this recipe, I'm sorry I didn't like it more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Newby3

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
sooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
This is not your ordinary Italian Wedding Soup recipe; the addition of lemon zest makes this extraordinary. Reminds me a bit of a soup made in Greece using meatballs and orzo and lemon. The only addition I recommend is cannelini beans. I cook them up in the pressure cooker and add, but you could easily drain and add the canned variety. Gives added taste and health bonus. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Really wonderful. My husband had three bowls! But I should say, inspired by some of the other tips, I did play with the recipe quite a bit. I have a hard time serving any freshmade soup that hasn't simmered at least a couple of hours. To start, I made the meatballs exactly as directed. And they were wonderful. After I'd rolled the meatballs into marble sized portions and put them back in the refrigerator to chill, I sauteed 2 chopped carrots, 1 chopped zucchini, and half an onion in a lemon/olive oil til all were soft and fragrant. Only then did I add four cans of chicken broth, one can of beef broth, a healthy teaspoon of italian seasoning, and finally chucked in the meatballs. I let it come to a boil, (waiting for the meatballs to rise to the top, the "done" signal) and then turned down to low to simmer for about 2 hours. About 20 minutes before service, I cooked the pasta al dente separately. About five minutes before service, I added the pasta into the simmering broth, as well as the lemon zest and chopped spinach. The spinach didn't wilt overmuch that way, and retained its bright green color. I served this with a loaf of hot bread out of the oven, a baby greens salad with strawberries, red onion and pecans, and a bottle of sauvignon blanc. A genuine hit! Thanks for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Not bad but I have had better Wedding soup. The search continues. The meatballs are terrific. that is why I gave it threee stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Holy Cow this was delicious and amazingly easy to make! The only complaint I have is that, as written, it does not have enough liquid in it and would not feed 6 people as written. I used 12 cups of chicken stock, doubled the meatball ingredients,kale (can be interchanged with escarole as far as my tastes are concerned), and orzo. With the doubling I had enough for about 8 servings--perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I made my own meatballs with half ground turkey and half lean ground beef and my own seasonings including lots of minced garlic. I then followed soup recipe to a "T". The lemon zest really perks up the flavors. I did put a pinch of red pepper flake it to bring a little heat to the broth. We love any soup with fresh greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
We've made this several times, and love it! I make it with ground turkey, as I don't like ground beef, and seasoned the meatballs with additional salt, pepper, and garlic powder. love this, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARCIL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Aurora, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Make a double batch to use a full pound of ground beef, if you feed a big family or a crowd. The leftovers are even better than the first day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falcon, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
didn't like, not as flavourful as I expected
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Best Italian Sausage Soup

Hearty, flavorful soup with Italian sausage, vegetables, and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States