California Italian Wedding Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This is great! I love how the broth soaks up the flavor from the meatballs as they cook! I wanted something between italian wedding soup, a traditional pasta dish and stew so I changed it a bit to suit my mood, so here is my version. 2 cups of water quart of canned tomatoes enough bouillon for the 5 3/4 cups of broth - Start boiling immediately so liquids have time to reduce. Make your meatballs to suit yourself. And drop 'em in as suggested in the original recipe. - I added extra noodles, about 1 cup (used broken up linguine cause I didn't have orzo) - I also added a few cloves of garlic and extra spinach, cause I love garlic... And spinach! ; )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I really liked the addition of lemon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I loved this! I made a few changes, but it was great. I am a vegetarian so I used one bag of Quorn "meatballs" instead of making my own. I also used a vegetable stock instead of chicken. The stock is very low sodium (45mg), so I added a little salt and pepper as well. Lastly, I don't really like lemon so I only used half, and it was actually a great addition. I put the green onion right in the broth, since I wasn't making my own meatballs. This soup was light and had tons of flavor without the salt. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Herkimer, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I made this recipe to a 't' with the exception of swapping out basil for lovage and thyme (what I had in my garden) and using slightly less chicken stock. I had to add a lot more liquid to the stock and ended up with a plain broth and relatively tasty meatballs. If I made this again I would have to add herbs and possibly veggies (carrots, potatoes, celery). Thank you for sharing this recipe, I'm sorry I didn't like it more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Newby3

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
sooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
This is not your ordinary Italian Wedding Soup recipe; the addition of lemon zest makes this extraordinary. Reminds me a bit of a soup made in Greece using meatballs and orzo and lemon. The only addition I recommend is cannelini beans. I cook them up in the pressure cooker and add, but you could easily drain and add the canned variety. Gives added taste and health bonus. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Really wonderful. My husband had three bowls! But I should say, inspired by some of the other tips, I did play with the recipe quite a bit. I have a hard time serving any freshmade soup that hasn't simmered at least a couple of hours. To start, I made the meatballs exactly as directed. And they were wonderful. After I'd rolled the meatballs into marble sized portions and put them back in the refrigerator to chill, I sauteed 2 chopped carrots, 1 chopped zucchini, and half an onion in a lemon/olive oil til all were soft and fragrant. Only then did I add four cans of chicken broth, one can of beef broth, a healthy teaspoon of italian seasoning, and finally chucked in the meatballs. I let it come to a boil, (waiting for the meatballs to rise to the top, the "done" signal) and then turned down to low to simmer for about 2 hours. About 20 minutes before service, I cooked the pasta al dente separately. About five minutes before service, I added the pasta into the simmering broth, as well as the lemon zest and chopped spinach. The spinach didn't wilt overmuch that way, and retained its bright green color. I served this with a loaf of hot bread out of the oven, a baby greens salad with strawberries, red onion and pecans, and a bottle of sauvignon blanc. A genuine hit! Thanks for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Not bad but I have had better Wedding soup. The search continues. The meatballs are terrific. that is why I gave it threee stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Holy Cow this was delicious and amazingly easy to make! The only complaint I have is that, as written, it does not have enough liquid in it and would not feed 6 people as written. I used 12 cups of chicken stock, doubled the meatball ingredients,kale (can be interchanged with escarole as far as my tastes are concerned), and orzo. With the doubling I had enough for about 8 servings--perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I made my own meatballs with half ground turkey and half lean ground beef and my own seasonings including lots of minced garlic. I then followed soup recipe to a "T". The lemon zest really perks up the flavors. I did put a pinch of red pepper flake it to bring a little heat to the broth. We love any soup with fresh greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States