California Italian Wedding Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
YUM! This is now one of our favorite soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon LePage

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Five stars for being quick, simple and delicious. I always make extra meatballs and store them (pre-baked) in the freezer. I dropped them at the same time as the orzo and it was all ready at the same time. My only alterations were to use veggie broth and add a 14 oz. can of cannellini beans. I baked some fresh croutons and passed them with the soup. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
LOVED it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I modified this quite a bit to accommodate food allergies (beef, pork, wheat, egg, onion, milk): Meatballs made from Jennie-O sweet Italian turkey sausage links (unbound, rolled without adding crumbs/eggs into small balls), extra torn baby spinach, brown rice instead of pasta, added pinto beans (didn’t have white cannelloni beans, as suggested by other recipes)., no cheese, dried Italian spice blend in lieu of fresh herbs. It turned out great – the hit of the pot luck dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Beautiful, healthy soup. Super easy. I substituted ingredients on hand: spinach instead of escarole; cooked, chopped sausage and turkey instead of meatballs. Because I wasn't making meatballs, I added chopped fresh basil and parsley as well. Took another reviewer's suggestion and topped each bowl with a teaspoon of freshly squeezed lemon juice, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STONESOUP

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This is great! I love how the broth soaks up the flavor from the meatballs as they cook! I wanted something between italian wedding soup, a traditional pasta dish and stew so I changed it a bit to suit my mood, so here is my version. 2 cups of water quart of canned tomatoes enough bouillon for the 5 3/4 cups of broth - Start boiling immediately so liquids have time to reduce. Make your meatballs to suit yourself. And drop 'em in as suggested in the original recipe. - I added extra noodles, about 1 cup (used broken up linguine cause I didn't have orzo) - I also added a few cloves of garlic and extra spinach, cause I love garlic... And spinach! ; )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I really liked the addition of lemon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I loved this! I made a few changes, but it was great. I am a vegetarian so I used one bag of Quorn "meatballs" instead of making my own. I also used a vegetable stock instead of chicken. The stock is very low sodium (45mg), so I added a little salt and pepper as well. Lastly, I don't really like lemon so I only used half, and it was actually a great addition. I put the green onion right in the broth, since I wasn't making my own meatballs. This soup was light and had tons of flavor without the salt. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Herkimer, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I made this recipe to a 't' with the exception of swapping out basil for lovage and thyme (what I had in my garden) and using slightly less chicken stock. I had to add a lot more liquid to the stock and ended up with a plain broth and relatively tasty meatballs. If I made this again I would have to add herbs and possibly veggies (carrots, potatoes, celery). Thank you for sharing this recipe, I'm sorry I didn't like it more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Newby3

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States