California Italian Wedding Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This was delicious- the lemon adds a really nice dimension to it. I made it low sodium/vegetarian using l.s. veggie broth and packaged veggie 'meatballs'. I also subbed spinach for the escarole and a can of l.s. white kidney beans for the orzo (I was out). Topped each serving with a squirt of lemon juice and sliced green onions on top and fresh garlic bread on the side. Hubby really enjoyed it and suggested I make it for the family holiday gathering. Thanks DPATEL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
it's ok. I liked the lemon zest- it's a very unique flavor. What I didn't like was the soup was way too greasy. I used extra lean ground beef. Not sure what happened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This soup turned out delicious! Instead of hamburger I used Italian chicken sausage and the meatballs were wonderful. The only time consuming step was forming the meatballs but I doubled the recipe so that makes sense. I wasn't sure how to grate fresh basil so I tried, gave up and then minced it. Very good for a chilly day. I served it with a loaf of crusty italian bread which was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
The only thing I changed was I used half of a lemon rind and it was perfect. I think a whole one would have been too much. The only bad thing is it doesn't make enough...we finished the whole pot! My kids never ask for seconds. In fact, I have to make another batch tonight because my older daughter wants it for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
My family thought this recipe was a little bland. Next I will add romano to the meatballs and some red onion to the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sterling, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This has become a staple in our home from dinner parties to everyday eating. The only thing I change is I substitute 1/2 of the ground beef with italian sausage. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
YUM! This is now one of our favorite soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon LePage

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Five stars for being quick, simple and delicious. I always make extra meatballs and store them (pre-baked) in the freezer. I dropped them at the same time as the orzo and it was all ready at the same time. My only alterations were to use veggie broth and add a 14 oz. can of cannellini beans. I baked some fresh croutons and passed them with the soup. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
LOVED it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States