California Italian Wedding Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
it's ok. I liked the lemon zest- it's a very unique flavor. What I didn't like was the soup was way too greasy. I used extra lean ground beef. Not sure what happened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This soup turned out delicious! Instead of hamburger I used Italian chicken sausage and the meatballs were wonderful. The only time consuming step was forming the meatballs but I doubled the recipe so that makes sense. I wasn't sure how to grate fresh basil so I tried, gave up and then minced it. Very good for a chilly day. I served it with a loaf of crusty italian bread which was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
The only thing I changed was I used half of a lemon rind and it was perfect. I think a whole one would have been too much. The only bad thing is it doesn't make enough...we finished the whole pot! My kids never ask for seconds. In fact, I have to make another batch tonight because my older daughter wants it for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
My family thought this recipe was a little bland. Next I will add romano to the meatballs and some red onion to the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sterling, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This has become a staple in our home from dinner parties to everyday eating. The only thing I change is I substitute 1/2 of the ground beef with italian sausage. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
YUM! This is now one of our favorite soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Five stars for being quick, simple and delicious. I always make extra meatballs and store them (pre-baked) in the freezer. I dropped them at the same time as the orzo and it was all ready at the same time. My only alterations were to use veggie broth and add a 14 oz. can of cannellini beans. I baked some fresh croutons and passed them with the soup. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
LOVED it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I modified this quite a bit to accommodate food allergies (beef, pork, wheat, egg, onion, milk): Meatballs made from Jennie-O sweet Italian turkey sausage links (unbound, rolled without adding crumbs/eggs into small balls), extra torn baby spinach, brown rice instead of pasta, added pinto beans (didn’t have white cannelloni beans, as suggested by other recipes)., no cheese, dried Italian spice blend in lieu of fresh herbs. It turned out great – the hit of the pot luck dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States