California Italian Wedding Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
This is a good hearty soup. The only thing I did differently was use ground turkey and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
i have tried a few recipes for this soup......this is by far the best...california style is a refreshing change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jinni Eek
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Very very good soup! The only thing I changed was that I cooked the meatballs for 10 minutes in the oven first as a reviewer suggested. I also had a really big lemon so I didn't add all the zest, good choice I think if I did it would be too lemony for me and my family's tastes. The only other thing I did was I didn't have any green onions for the meatballs so I used a little bit of fresh chive instead. Great tasting, easy recipe. I would definitely reccomend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
This was absolutely yummy! I wish I had made a double batch.....oh well, can make more tomorrow. I followed the recipe exactly as shown. As everyone said, the lemon zest and fresh herbs are what makes this so awesome. Thank you very much for the recipe!! Will be making it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
This soup is simple and superb. Definitely the fresh herbs allow the meatballs to come alive, and the meatballs should be made no bigger than 1/2 inch across. The fresh lemon zest is what allows this soup to sparkle. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
DELICIOUS! Fresh herbs are a must to give this such flavor. My meatballs were 1/2" and I baked them at 350 for 10 minutes to release the grease. I like this recipe for the ease of making it in such a short time. The only thing missing was those toasted cheddar bread cubes. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
Hubby loved this version of soup. It tastes so fresh, I add just a touch of lemon juice with the zest and I use spinach in place of the escarole. Be sure to add the parsley or green onions for color. I also make the meatball tiny, about the size of a grape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by go away

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I've never had Italian Wedding Soup before so have nothing to compare it to. It turned out to be a nice lite soup for a warmer than expected day. I made it exactly as written, omitting the green onions and using spinach. A squeeze of lemon juice in the bowl after serving really brightened it up. Next time I'll increase the spinach and orzo. I think I will also brown the meatballs first; they looked pretty anemic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
This recipe gets rave reviews whenever it is served. Use beef, turkey, or your own mixture for the meatballs, it doesn't matter. The soup is terrific and the lemon zest adds a touch not found in most soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shillington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
Very good. I will use this from now on. I also used spinach and ground beef, browned it first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States