California Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I can't get enough of this. I have taken it to several potlucks and always get asked for the recipe. I make it in a gallon-size freezer bag, squeeze the air out for maximum marinade and let it sit overnight in the refrigerator. I work from home a few days a week and I love having a batch on hand. I eat it with my sandwich instead of chips! I don't use all the oil. I put about 2 TBSP oil in the bottom of my 1/2 cup measuring cup and fill it the rest of the way with water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spencerport, New York, USA
Living In: Lindenhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
This recipe is just what I was looking for, and suits us perfectly. The only change I made was to cut the amount of oil in half, using olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
This cole slow was delicious. I uses one tablespoon of sugar and only half a teaspoon of salt. I will probably make this slow again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
A nice change from mayo-based slaw. Not too sweet or sour. Enjoyed its flavor on the first day. Can't wait to try it on the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I thought this was okay. I added a little more sugar than called for as I thought the vinegar still had a bit too much bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Really good-- I'm NOT a fan of mayonnaise-based slaws. This one is fresh & tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Soooo good ,Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This recipe is delicious! I've made it on a few occasions, mostly for BBQs. Not only is it delicious on its own, but it pairs well with BBQ pork or brisket. It's light and colorful and tastes wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Good, but not the taste I'm looking for. This one is too sweet and doesn't have the right tange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Nana's Southern Coleslaw

A creamy, tangy, vintage slaw handed down through the generations.

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

A creamy, sweet-tart salad that tastes like a popular chicken restaurant’s slaw.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States