California Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Very easy to make and turns out great. It is much better after it marinates overnight, and I drained off excess liquid before I served. Makes a great easy filler for wraps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Pretty good! I accidentally bought red cabbage, but I think it came out pretty awesome. I think some of the proportions in this recipe are a little off because this definitely yields more than 6 servings. Also, I had a head of cabbage (approx 4 lbs) and it may not have been "small" enough because I only used about half of it with the rest of the portions staying the same, except a little extra carrots. I might also not use up all the dressing next time, as there was an excessive amount of liquid left over. Either way, it was still very tasty and I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Good, but a little too sweet for my taste. Next time I will cut down on sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Park Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crown Point, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I made it as written; nobody could eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daveycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I will admit, I didn't follow this recipe to the letter! I was in the mood for coleslaw one evening, and I needed a recipe that was not mayonnaise based. I took the liberty of using 1/2 cup of rice vinegar and 1/4 cup sesame oil instead of the vinegar and oil used in the recipe (what can I say...I'm Filipino, and these are what I had handy!) Instead of chopping my bell peppers, I sliced them thinly. I used red onion instead of white, because it's what I had handy. It turned out great...even my husband went for seconds, and he is a bit picky! Please remember, I made changes to the recipe without trying the original. However, the original recipe did serve as a springboard to making coleslaw with what I had handy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJAVIER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
If you prefer vinegar dressing to mayo like my family and I do, your search for the perfect cole slaw recipe ends here! Just use any type of onion, cabbage, pepper and throw in whatever other veggies you have on hand - I've added celery and apple in the past. I do cut the oil down to 1/4 cup but follow the other ingredients as written. Also tastes fine with olive oil instead of vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
excellent...but i omit the oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glo

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Great anytime salad option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Menomonie, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Super easy for quick prep slaw. I agree with the other users that it is way better sitting after a day. But it is almost as delicious that same day! Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moxie19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Good recipe for someone who likes peppers, I do not like peppers so I did not care for it much. My sister and my mom loved it (they love peppers) but my sister said it needed to be sweeter. The dressing is good! I like it having no mayo. If you like peppers it is a must! If you don't like peppers, don't try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Nana's Southern Coleslaw

A creamy, tangy, vintage slaw handed down through the generations.

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

A creamy, sweet-tart salad that tastes like a popular chicken restaurant’s slaw.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States