California Cole Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
All time favorite slaw. I don't like mayo, so this vinegar base was amazing. I use half the suggested oil to cut down on fat, doesn't need it. Definitely marinate overnight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
At last a recipe with whole natural ingredients, and no mayo!! Thank you for a very tasty salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magoulianitissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Great recipe. Very simple, quick to make. Much more healthy than a traditional cole slaw recipe which I find to be repulsive. I think it might taste good with some herbs in it too; perhaps some fresh parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Not overly excited about this recipe but I would definitely try it again. I loved the colorfulness of the slaw with the addition of the peppers. (I used green/red/yellow/orange!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer : )

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I didn't have any bell peppers, so I chopped up an unpeeled apple. I also only had red onion, but I used it anyway. ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS SLAW! It's got to sit overnight for full flavor, but it's the best on pulled pork or pulled chicken sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
This is the best cole slaw I have ever eaten. Everyone is right to let it sit overnight, the older the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MikeinVA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Just made this today, it's great! Can't wait till tomorrow because I know the longer it marinades the better it'll be! Thank you for a great summer side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by xmyheart
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Superb! I was making "Hudson's Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce" and needed a side dish or two...something refreshing. This recipe fit the bill perfectly! I cheated a little and bought a 1 lb. bag of prepared coleslaw (already had shredded carrots in it) and I chopped up the rest of the veggies myself. For the marinade, I mixed all the ingredients in a separate cup and then poured it into the salad bowl with the veggies and tossed the salad making sure everything was nice and wet. I refrigerated it for about 4 hours. It went excellent with the fish! A very refreshing and tasty coleslaw! I will be making this a lot in the upcoming summer months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xmyheart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Wow. This is fantastic. I used a store package of broccoli slaw mix instead of a head of cabbage. I tested this recipe just in time for grill season--my boyfriend and I will be eating this all summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna Scottsdale

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
As a Spaniard I have been making this salad for over 50 years. We always use olive oil & cider vinegar, and we never measure, we go by taste test. If one doesn't want to add sugar (I don't), sub seasoned rice vinegar for cider and reduce the oil. The key is that the cider vinegar gives it a nice 'bite'. Sugar is optional. Definitely marinate in fridge for several hours, or overnight. If made just prior to dinner, marinate at room temp for about an hour, tossing to coat several times. It will have absorbed the marinade and still retain a little crispness. Leftovers are great the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

California Grilled Veggie Sandwich

See how to make a 5-star sandwich with grilled vegetables on focaccia bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States