California Cole Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
It was just okay. I made this because my husband doesn't like mayo-based cole slaw. This was no better. It tasted too much like relish to him. He's right. That's kind of what it tastes like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
I've made this recipe many times. People seem to really enjoy a vinegar based coleslaw, especially when you don't know how long it'll be sitting out. Instead of using a green pepper, I usually will sliver up a yellow (or even orange) peppper. It contrasts nicely with the red pepper and the orange of the carrots in the bag of coleslaw mix that I use instead of shredding my cabbage and shredding my carrots. I also sometimes add extra pre-shredded carrots from the produce section. I know - cheating and more expensive, but what a timesaver! I also tend to sliver the onion instead of chop it up. It's a very easy recipe to make. The longer it sits, the better it tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
This was pretty good...I used 2 16 oz. bags of pre-shredded cole slaw mix....it was a light version in contrast to the typical mayo recipe. I really enjoyed it...used it on pulled pork sandwiches. Will made it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
I loved this and it kept it's crunch for 5 days until I ate it all. I did cut the oil in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bessemer City, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by misymiss
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
This cole slaw is good. I let it marinate over night and tasted more like pickled slaw. It is quick and easy to make. Great for a hot day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misymiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Montebello, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Very yummy and full of veggies. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Super slaw. Used one purchased bag of shredded cabbage, sixteen ounces, two small yellow peppers, a bulk-purchase bargain at the local supermarket, and a tiny bit less oil. When first mixed - and tasted - I had reservations. The vinegar seemed really strong. But by dinnertime, this was great and I'm glad I resisted the urge to add a bit more sugar. Lots of 'juice' at the bottom of the bowl the second day, but this didn't seem to affect the flavor or texture of the slaw. Will make again fer sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
*SO* good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
Love it. It's light and tangy.Much better if it is made a few hours earlier than when you plan to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
i wish i could give this more stars...very good very good, it was gone made it for my parents 25th wedding anniversary and had it with italian sausage and pulled pork. Gone. Only thing is too much onion, definatly cut back, but i let it marinate over night as well. very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

California Grilled Veggie Sandwich

See how to make a 5-star sandwich with grilled vegetables on focaccia bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States