California Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
Very tasty! I followed other reviews and marinated the chicken in olive oil and lemon juice (I was out of lime). I added some minced garlic and onions to the marinade and cooked the chicken in the marinade. I topped the chicken with some diced green chili under the tomato and substituted a mexican blend of shredded cheese for the monterey jack. This will definitely be added to my list of favorite recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZWILDCATFAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingman, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2001
I LOVE this recipe! The previous reviews were helpful too--it defnitely needed the added flavor of the cilantro/lime. My kids love it, too. They even eat the avacado, something they're not "used to"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2000
The avacado is a great idea! My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
This was so absolutely delicious!!! I couldn't believe how good it was. It looked like it belonged in a restaurant and tasted like it Too! Everything was great, I wouldn't change a thing and I will definetly be making this again -- probably for company. It would make a great dinner party dish! Thanks for sharing -- THIS IS A KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
This dish was fantastic with several varying flavors. I took past suggestions and marinated the chicken in olive oil, lime juice, black pepper and onion powder. Instead of adding a slice of tomatoe and avocado, I made guacamole with avocado, salsa, cilantro and a little bit of salt to taste. I garnished it with some cilantro. It had an excellent flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2000
Very good! Especially with fresh veggies. For a little extra kick we added some lime juice and cilantro before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
I loved this. It was very easy and tastey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RYGUY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Driggs, Idaho, USA
Living In: Shelley, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2004
I adored this recipe! I definitely recommend making it as soon as you can! It is quick and easy and will certainly be added to my list of favorites. I did marinate the chicken in olive oil and a little lemon juice as recommended and I added a clove of minced garlic to the marinade. I then sauteed it in the marinade and also added 1/2 of a sweet onion sliced. I used pre-shredded mexican cheese as well and loved how the flavors all mixed together. Don't leave out the avocado! I wasn't too sure about it but did it anyway and now I am excited about trying more things with avocado. It was the crowning touch. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
All of the flavors went together so well, this was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
This recipe was a huge hit with my VERY picky DB. The only thing I changed was I added 1/2 tsp. of garlic powder with the onion powder. This is definately one of our favorites!!! As a side note: it goes great with brocolli and cheese rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BugNBear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States