California Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
After a few changes this was wonderful. I made a lime cilatro marinade for the chicken(olive oil,lime juice,cilantro, and garlic) and let it marinade for a few hours, then when i cooked it i put a couple of sprigs of cilatro on it then the tomato and cheese and i took some canned black olives chopped them up and added them on top. The family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
245 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Absolutley mouth-watering! I took the advice of other reviewers and marinated the chicken in olive oil, garlic and lime juice before cooking in the skillet. I used the marinade to brown the chicken in the skillet instead of using additional olive oil. The only addition I will add next time will be to place cooked bacon on top of the chicken before baking in the oven. This recipe is definitely a keeper. I served it with rice pilaf and a fresh salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSCHAE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2004
I adored this recipe! I definitely recommend making it as soon as you can! It is quick and easy and will certainly be added to my list of favorites. I did marinate the chicken in olive oil and a little lemon juice as recommended and I added a clove of minced garlic to the marinade. I then sauteed it in the marinade and also added 1/2 of a sweet onion sliced. I used pre-shredded mexican cheese as well and loved how the flavors all mixed together. Don't leave out the avocado! I wasn't too sure about it but did it anyway and now I am excited about trying more things with avocado. It was the crowning touch. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2000
This tastes great and is so simple to prepare. I changed it a tiny bit and grilled the chicken after marinating it in olive oil, lemon juice and lemon pepper. I then popped it in the oven for a few minutes to melt the cheese. After it was put together I added a few sprigs of cilantro. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I only made two changes to this recipe (but I'm sure it's great the way it is). I added just a little garlic to the chicken (we love garlic) and I grilled the chicken instead of sauteing. I agree with others that it may be easier to dice the tomato (and even the avocado) to make sure you have all the ingredients in one bite. Excellent and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
This dish was fantastic with several varying flavors. I took past suggestions and marinated the chicken in olive oil, lime juice, black pepper and onion powder. Instead of adding a slice of tomatoe and avocado, I made guacamole with avocado, salsa, cilantro and a little bit of salt to taste. I garnished it with some cilantro. It had an excellent flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
This was an awesome and unique way to prepare chicken. A good way to mix things up a bit when you tend to make chicken the same way all the time. This was a great meal! The avacados started turning black once I cut them so I would recommend cutting them RIGHT BEFORE you serve the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2001
I LOVE this recipe! The previous reviews were helpful too--it defnitely needed the added flavor of the cilantro/lime. My kids love it, too. They even eat the avacado, something they're not "used to"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2000
I love tomato and avocado, and when mixed with the cheese and tender chicken the flavors of this recipe were delicious! I did't cook the chicken all the way through in the pan since cooking it in the oven would finish it off...I like my chicen to be very tender...and my guests were able to cut it with a fork. I served this dish with corn on the cob and home-made stuffing. Everybody raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This was excellent...I seasoned the chicken with salt pepper garlic and tyme...browned it in olive oil..put a lid on the pan let it finish cooking...added the cheese tomato, put the lid back on for a minute or so to melt the cheese then the avocado...the entire family loved it...will be making this over and over maybe with bacon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixiestix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States