California Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
YUMMY! I took a few of the reviews, and marinated it in lemon(didn't have lime), oil, cilantro, and 3 tablespoons of salt(brine) for about 2 hours. Then browned(not cooked) it(not adding oil) with a slice of bacon for each breast. Once browned, placed in a baking dish, topping with the bacon, tomato, and cheese....covered then baked for 20 minutes. The chicken breast was juicy, and had tons of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristinaMor
Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Great recipe! I think next time though, I'm going to use a different cheese. The Monterey Jack was a little too subtle for my tastbuds. I need something like pepper jack to give it a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
This was really awesome! Some changes I made: I marinated the chicken in kraft signature italian tuscan (extra virgin olive oil) dressing, added garlic powder instead of onion, and fresh chopped coriander. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
an absolute knockout! Especially with pepperjack cheese. very quick, very easy, great fallback for fast weekday dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Admittedly, I did not follow the recipe as written...I did marinate the chicken in cilantro-garlic-lime-etc...I wish I'd have just grilled the chicken after marinating all day cause that part was great! I cannot imagine how bland this would have been without. Just the toppings were a bit too bland for our tastes. IF I try it again I'll marinate the chicken longer & possibly reserve some marinade to dress the tomatoes & avocados. Needs a sauce of some sort, like hollandaise or even chicken gravy would be nice, but way too bland as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
made this as specified last night.other than using pepper jack cheese, made it as called for..LOVED IT!! living in los angeles, it definitely represents CA..thank you.will add this to my keeper book.thanks again. REALLY TASTY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
EXCELLENT!! I did take other's advice tho. I marinated in lime juice, olive oil, pepper, and onion powder for about 2 hours before putting in the skillet! I made this with some lime cilantro rice and my husband loved loved loved it!!! Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Family liked a lot! Definite repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jaymee
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This dish ia amazing!!!! So easy to make.. yet sophisticated. I did make a few changes. i simmered the chicken breast in a mixture of shallots, lime juice and cilantro until cooked. I also use one full avocado for each chicken breast. The rest of the recipe was the same. Will be cooking this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaymee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marystown, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Literally just finished eating it and it was amazing! I kicked it up a bit with some spices but all in all a great, simple, quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States