California Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I rated this 4 stars because of the beautiful presentation, ease to prepare and the taste. I marinated for a few hours in a cilantro based sauce (love cilantro!!) I added much more garlic, salt and pepper than was called for just because we like our food well seasoned. Great little dish and it really does look pretty. Served over our favorite white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOAN2005

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
new favorite for chicken. I pounded the chicken flat, marinated it a few hours like others said, added bacon and chopped the tomatoe so you can get some of everything in each bite. amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Fast and easy! I was going to just put my skillet in the oven instead of dirtying up a cookie sheet but the breasts were thick so I covered the pan to speed them up after browning. It occured to me that I didn't need the oven but just put the cheese on and covered it back up while I plated mashed potatoes and veg. It worked great and coated the chicken nicely. The cheese pooled in the skillet I drizzled over the potatoes. I forgot to put the tomatoes on so they went on cold with the avocado. I had drizzled the avocado with a little lemon juice to keep it from turning brown while I made the chicken and that added a nice tang too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia Greer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
This was a very pretty recipe when done but not a lot of taste and I added Garlic herb seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzkenworthy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Culpeper, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Interesting recipe, but I found it to be a bit bland, chicken also got rubbery from being sauteed and then baked. Easy to make though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha
Photo by CooksW/Love
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
i originally gave this 4 because i thought it needed a little more spice, but i gave it 5 because it was inspiring :) I used fresh garlic and lemon for marinade and rubbed the chicken in s&p, paprika & garlic powder. i also added sliced black olives for the topper mmmm delicious! thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooksW/Love

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murrieta, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Easy and tastes fresh. Love it as a new way to cook chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
great flavor and great ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I marinated mine in a cuban garlic and lime marinade then grilled it on "the george" to reduce the "bad" fat in it. Used lower fat cheese. We all liked it. Will make again, probably marinading in lime and cilantro marinade next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Absolutley mouth-watering! I took the advice of other reviewers and marinated the chicken in olive oil, garlic and lime juice before cooking in the skillet. I used the marinade to brown the chicken in the skillet instead of using additional olive oil. The only addition I will add next time will be to place cooked bacon on top of the chicken before baking in the oven. This recipe is definitely a keeper. I served it with rice pilaf and a fresh salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSCHAE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States