California Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
i marinated the breast as recommended,in olive oil,lime juice,garlic and black pepper.we don't have monterey jack cheese in Ireland,so i used cheddar.I found this dish a bit greasy,could have been the cheese but it just wasn't great sorry i know everyone else seemed to love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I slathered the chicken breasts in olive oil then dusted with onion powder, salt and pepper and left overnight in the fridge. When ready to cook I put them on the grill (no added oil or seasonings) and they were seasoned perfectly! Tried sliced tomatoes and diced; found the breast with the diced tomatoes easier to eat. But delicious either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katycooks1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Magalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pickyp
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
The Monterrey Jack cheese is perfect for this recipe--loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pickyp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
This was a great recipe. Made just as recipe specified, but added bacon bits to the cheese before topping with avocado. Hubby is not a big chicken fan, but said that it was something different and didn't hear a word else out of him at the table until his plate was clean. For sides, I had black beans and a side salad, he had corn on the cob, since he doesn't like black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josh's Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
We enjoy many of the Recipes and always the reviews that go with them. But this recipe for California Chicken was SO good I just had to write. Following the advice of several reviewers, I marinated the breasts. My favorite marinade for any dense white meat is Goya's MoJo Criolio marinade for chicken, pork & beef. But instead of the sliced tomato, I used ChiChi's Mild Salsa and sprinkled that, during the last 15 minutes of baking with Hormel's Bacon Bits. We skipped the avocado but it's easy enough to add for those who fancy them. Thanks Ingrid for a GREAT recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanda Andrews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
This recipe is great and very easy! We made a marinade with lime juice, cilantro, pepper, and olive oil as suggested by other users. We baked the chicken with pepperjack cheese on top of the sliced tomato. We topped the dish with avacado and green onions. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This was so easy and delicious! We love balsamic glaze so we tried some on top and that made it perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
This was very good. My husband couldn't stop raving about it. We used munster cheese instead of Monterey Jack. Also, like other posters, I thought this needed bacon. If I make this again, I'll definitely add some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Marinated first, in the Mojito Grilling Marinade. Not sure why the photo and some comments show apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
This chicken is so wonderful! it is light and flavorful and seems really healthy! i didn't add cheese, some of the family can't have cheese, but it was so great still! i also marinaded the chicken. my marinade(white wine, olive oil, garlic powder, and cilantro.) it was so easy and super tasty. you need to try this, you will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuperUberGoober :)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States