California Chicken Spaghetti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
Hi, everyone! I'm so glad to see that people have enjoyed my recipe. I didn't even know it had been posted until I "googled" my name the other day (just curious, ya know?!?!) Anyway, having read through the reviews and suggestions, I would like to make a few clarifications to the recipe. I always use Paul Prudhomme's blackened redfish magic, and I realize now that I usually only use 1/2 to 2/3 box of angel hair pasta. Hope that helps, and thanks again for the good reviews. Enjoy! PS: I didn't know how to post notes to your own recipe, hence posting here in reviews. Thanks again, Molly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
This was a wonderful dish! I highly recommend this pasta and it is in my regular rotation. I prepare it with the following changes: use a 15 oz. can of diced basil seasoned tomatoes (not drained) instead of the fresh tomatoes, use the entire package of basil feta cheese, stir approx. 5 oz. of shredded asiago cheese into the pasta prior to mixing with chicken. DO NOT CUT THE PASTA IN HALF as other reviewers have suggested. This spaghetti isn't super saucy and liquidy like many Americans expect and that could be why people suggested using less pasta. The asiago cheese adds texture and flavor to the pasta. If you use the amount of pasta called for, this meal will go a long way. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
Killer! I made it without the chicken and it was incredibly good. Will definitely make again and again. As a side note, this dish is extremely spicy with the 2 tablespoons of cajun seasoning - you may want to adjust if you don't like it too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prairie Village, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
What a great meal! It had a very nice bite to it and would go great with wine. The Feta Cheese is crucial to this pasta dish. I made this for my girlfriend over a weekend and got laid...three times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This is a staple in our house! We have been making it since 2005 and I am just now rating it! haha. We always keep these ingredients on hand and we make it quiet often! This recipe is great as is... but, we add a few other ingredients depending on our mood. One change we always make is we use roasted garlic because we like the flavor it gives off. Some other items we sometimes include are: mushrooms, black olives, artichokes, and crispy bacon. This is a keeper! Oh by the way- we have made this many times for company and always get rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
I've made this in the past and enjoyed it, but my husband didn't really care for it. I was making for a potluck for work, and somehow, I forgot to buy chicken for the chicken spaghetti! I subbed Italian sausage, and what a difference! It was amazing, and my husband's already begging for it again! At the potluck, they were scraping the pot clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
I've been making this for about three years now since one of my college roomates turned me on to it. I'm married now and still making it- even my husband, who is somewhat choosy about food, loves it and actually requests that I make it. I will say that it is much better with the freshest tomatoes you can get... during the winter, tomatoes from the store can be a bit bland, and because tomatoes are a huge part of this recipe, the dish will be a bit bland because of it. So, I think it's best during the summer with fresh farmer's market or your own garden-grown tomatoes (which are tangier and more flavorful than anything you'll buy in the store), or canned diced tomatoes with plenty of Italian herbs in them. All else being equal, though, the fresh tomatoes will taste better and have less sodium than canned. Try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DoctorAmelia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
This is a definite keeper! Instead of using chopped romas, I halved 1/2 a pint of grape tomatoes, used an Italian spice mix from my grinder, and used multigrain pasta. The feta cheese is a must, and sliced kalamata olives would also add good flavor if you like them. Thanks for a delicious & easy recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
They should rename this recipe "Crack Pasta". This is one of the best meals I have ever eaten. It's so simple and fast that you wouldn't think it would be that good, but it is. It even reheats great and tastes great cold the next day. If you can get over the idea of a sauceless pasta (it didn't sound quite right to me either) and give this a try you're going to make a lot of people happy in your house. If you're a feta fan, you will wonder where this recipe has been all your life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
Delicious! We just found out my husband is diabetic, so I used whole wheat thin spaghetti noodles. I felt like such a gourmet and my husband loved it! I used Zataran's Creole seasoning, I'm not sure if it's a blackened seasoning, but it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Meatballs and Spaghetti

What's cooking in Chicago? Kim's healthy chicken meatballs and spaghetti.

Chicken Spaghetti II

See how to make a cheesy, quick-and-easy pasta sauce for spaghetti.

Whole Grain Spaghetti with Chicken

A simple mixed nut pesto pairs perfectly with nutty whole grain spaghetti.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States