California Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This was very good, but I did add more seasoning and used less water. I used two 14oz cans of chicken broth and 2 soup cans of water. Probably needed a bit more liquid. I boiled for 20 minutes, added frozen broccoli, boiled another 7 minutes or so and added refrigerated tortellini. That only needed about 5 minutes and it was done. I added 1 tsp pepper, 1 tsp dried parsley, and 1 tsp dried thyme. Made this way it was flavorful and we all enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I have a family of 6 and make this often, everyone loves it. I pan cook the chicken first though because I like a golden brown chicken. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Being the lazy person I am, and since I had leftover chicken that i had already pulled apart and was in broth, I threw everything in the pressure cooker and cooked it on rice setting for 6 minutes. Done and good, will do again. The only thing I did was add some chicken cubes to the water and put in about a tsp of lemon juice, regular pepper and som garlic powder. Also not a big fan of oregano, might try basil instead next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Hmmm, sounds like a great twist to the standard chicken soup. I will try it out tonight with a couple of changes to the recipe but, overall looks good. Thnks to joan fo rthe idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Fairview, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Amazing.. loved it... added corn because we just love corn.. It's a very good soup recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Big Bear City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Very satisfying chicken soup. Love the tortellini. Add more spice than it calls for though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Photo by CourtneyC
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This was quite yummy! I used zucchini instead of broccoli and it added a nice flavor all together. The only thing I would say to change, is definitely add a chicken boulin cube or two to it and add some black pepper or on top of the lemon pepper. Otherwise it will be slightly bland. All in all, I enjoyed this dish and so did my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CourtneyC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This was fairly bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rikki Welter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaside, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Very good. My husband said next time I should leave out the broccoli and add more pepper, however, I thought it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I left out the broccoli, but otherwise kept things the same. It was really good, this will be a new staple in my menu's thank you. I can't believe the difference the parmesean made. Yummm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracee Workman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States