California Bean Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
This dip was a huge hit at my last tailgate party. Everyone wanted the recipe! I added diced red pepper and black eyed peas and also used red onion instead of white. Very easy and quick to prepare. Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
I make this recipe all the time and no one ever gets tired of it! The first time I made it, it was too runny. So, I reduced the italian dressing to 1/4 cup and the ranch to 1/2 cup. Turned out perfect! Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
This is a very good recipe, it's unusual, and definitely a winner! I did alter the recipe a little and took the advice of some other reviewers and added a touch of sour cream - definitely gave it alot of body and fullness to the flavor. I used Kens' lite ranch which was really good, and not as heavy tasting as the regular ranch. I added some taco hot sauce, some green peppers, canned mexicorn, some cheese, and I also used a zesty italian dressing for a kick. Additionally I used some cajun seasoning for a bit of warmth and alot of seasonings. It was very funky tasting, and it is now on my husbands list of favorite dips....oh, and try eating this with ritz crackers - I think it's better than tortilla chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2002
As far as cold and quick dips go, this is one of the best! I first made it for a Christmas party (and I think corn chips are the perfect thing to serve this with, by the way) and had several people ask me for the recipe and even more gush about it the next day. This is nothing fancy, but for a potluck or picnic or casual gathering, it's my new staple. Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
I served this with corn chips as part of my "Super Bowl Spread" and the guys devoured every last corn kernel!! The only alterations I followed were to use a package of frozen Baby white corn mixed w/some frozen yellow corn instead of canned (thawed in the micro, of course), as well as to add some chopped green and red bell peppers. I left the concoction in the fridge overnight so the taste medley could be perfected and it was excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2001
We used fat free dressings and it turned out awesome!!! A very tasty guilt free treat!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
I have made this twice now for social gatherings - one backyard bar-b-que and 1 famly get-together. It was literally the first thing gone. It is a MUST that you make it the night before or at least let it sit in the fridge for 8 hours. It makes all the difference. I also have added an avacado both times and think that that really adds to the flavor. I also add a couple of spoonfuls of sour cream like someone else suggested, some diced pickled jalepenos, and cut back just a little on the dressings. Last time I served it with Red hot roasted pita chips (pitas cut into wedges, sprinkled with spicy spices and toasted in the oven). Can't count the number of people that have asked for this recipe - it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinNurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greeneville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
This is fabulous and oh so tasty. My guests were apprehensive when just looking at the dip, but after a few bites, they were addicted (and I was too). This can be eaten as a salad too. In fact, I found myself sneaking bites right out of the bowl. I used Ken's light Olive Oil Vinagrette (very yummy dressing) and Kraft light ranch dressing. I'm making this for a luncheon tomorrow, can't wait to try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
This was excellent! With all this flavor (and lowfat). Do not let the way it looks fool you. Your guests will be asking you for this recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
had no taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Pumpkin Fluff Dip

This creamy vanilla-flavored pumpkin dip is super-easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States