California Bean Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Very tasty. Served with Fritoes. Next time I would use the Frito scoops as the original Fritoes were not big enough to get much of the dip on the Frito.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Used mexi corn, added 1 cup of Colby jack cheese and diced green pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
This is amazing! I added red and green bell peppers for extra flavor and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn1980

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
The dip was devoured the first time I made it. I like a little more spice, so I used Southwestern Ranch in place of both dressings. I also added a red bell pepper, 1/4 cup jalepenos, 1/2 cup sour cream, and Ancho chili powder to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Prescott Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
i almost didn't make this recipe because so many people said how "unappealing" it looks. if you just add a few more things with some color, it's beautiful! i diced up a tomato, half of a green pepper, and put in a red onion instead of a white one and it not only tastes good, but it looks appetizing too! good call on halving the dressing. i think all of it would have been too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
loved it and it was easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
sorry, but this was JUST GROSS~ for the "semi-homeade" type of cook! I had to wash the dressing off the whole thing in a colander in the sink it tasted SO bad! then i added some olive oil, lime juice, cumin, fresh garlic and chili powder to the remaining ingredients, before serving it. I also added two chopped tomatoes for some color. that saved the day, and my pride cause i was taking it to a party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Bjugstad
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
VERY GOOD. I took the advice of others and used 1/4 C Italian and 1/2 Cup ranch- I halved the hot sauce and cayenne (figured I could add more later) and it tasted great. Used red onion and I thought this was a very good dip. I have a TON left so I think I will roll them up in tortillas and bake with some red sauce and queso; YUMMMM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I am not a huge bean eater but this went over great at a work cinco de mayo party. I took other users suggestions and only used 1/2 cup ranch dressing. I also added some sour cream. It was a huge hit and super simple to make, I will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Have made this many times it is always a huge hit. You can't go wrong with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Pumpkin Fluff Dip

This creamy vanilla-flavored pumpkin dip is super-easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States