Calico Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I was skeptical to try this recipe after bad luck with others like it in the past, but this was wonderful. I baked a little but longer than suggested to get the topping nice and crispy, and I also added approximately a cup of chopped spinach. So Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
I first saw this recipe in Southern Living magazine back in 1998 and loved it! The only thing that I change when making it is the cream of mushroom soup; I use cream of chicken instead and it gives it a really good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Elkmont, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
This is such a pleasent change from the same old veggies. Everyone who ate it (including my picky daughter) loved it. The only thing I did different from the written recipe is I left out the pimentos and green onion. I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol A.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
Wonderful! My aunt makes something like this but this beats any squash casserole I have had. I didnt have pimento, green onions or water chestnuts. Still great. I will make sure to have those ingredients next time. I husband started talking about leftovers being his before dinner was over. It made enough but not an overwhelming amount like some others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TN Monkeymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
I have made this recipe several times for potlucks and it is always a hit. Takes time in preparation, but well worth the effort. It is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
This stuff is soooooo good. I love it, its hard to not eat the whole thing myself in 2 days time, im not even kidding. the pimento doesnt even matter it just adds color, either way it is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Port Clinton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This was good -- a little salty for my taste, so next time I will just cut back on the salt. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This was excellent as is, no changes. Even my finicky kids who won't eat their veggies loved it...would definately make again!!! Thanks for a great side dish recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisville, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brayden's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
A friend made this for a church potluck and it was incredible! She gave me the recipe, and she had photocopied it from p. 271 from either a book or a chapter called "Simple Sides." I found her copy in some paperwork and I was about to submit this recipe, but when I did a search, I found the same one, same submitter. It's listed under "Classic Comfort Food," and I have to agree! Thanks to everyone for your ideas to tweak the recipe. I'm looking forward to making it at Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 51-60 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Calico Bean Casserole

See how to make a delicious bean and beef side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States