Calico Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I just made a test recipe for Thanksgiving and this is my new squash dish. I added extra squash and zucchini as it looked like there was too much sauce for my original quantity of veggies. That may be what happened to you, Cristin. I did sautee the veggies in a little butter and olive oil. Added a little red pepper while sauteeing. Otherwise, made as directed. The dish came out better than expected. Five stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This dish is very good and the whole family loved it. I followed the recipe as given omitting the water chestnuts and pimentos since they weren't available at the time. I also sauteed the squash's and onions in a little olive oil rather than par boiling them. This is even better the next day. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Ruley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I have an AR cookbook with this recipe and have made this numerous times over the past few years. It is absolutely delicious! Very easy to adjust to ingredients on hand. I like to chop the water chestnuts. Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I made this the past several years for Thanksgiving. There is not a drop left and it is now a must have at our holiday table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
WOW! I made this multiple times this summer to "use up" all of the extra veggies we were getting from out crop share. Delicious every time. I even made an extra casserole and put it in the freezer. It bakes up just fine once it is thawed as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I modified quite a few things based on convenience. I used only zucchini. Used sour cream instead of mayo, dried basil instead of sage, a can diced chili instead of pimento, Italian cheese blend instead of chedder, and I omitted the cracker part entirely - just topped it with French's friend onions near the end of baking. Really good and different. Obviously...you can change around quite a few things and still get good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
This was a good dish to start, but made me a little sick after a few bites. I misread/didn't understand the "buttery round crackers" and ended up buying oyster soup crackers. Once I found out that it was the wrong kind, I didn't crush them before putting everything together so that they would stay a little crunchy. They didn't come out amazing, but it wasn't bad either. I also used less mayonnaise, but it was still too much for me. The texture created by the mayo and the squash was so squishy that it made me sick. The flavor was OK but I will not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I have to say even with all the great ratings I was skeptical but this dish is wonderful. I had no butter crackers so I used pretzels instead, just ran them through the food processor. Sliced the carrots instead of shredding and sauteed the squash and onion instead of boiling them. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
My husband loves this recipe! I omitted the pimentos, used one sleeve of Ritz, added minced garlic and green peppers and used Tonys instead of salt. Yuummmyyyy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
best squash recipe on the planet!!! I've made it as written and with some minor substitutions based on what I had on hand and both ways came out excellent! I made this last night and used sour cream instead of mayo, I also used one sleeve of crushed ritz which did not make two cups (more like 1 1/2 give or take) so I made up the remaining 1/2 cup with equal amounts of panko and Parmesan cheese. I used 2 diced roasted red peppers in place of the pimentos as I happened to have a jar in the house. I also used chopped fresh sage and thyme which gave an awesome flavor. My final modification was to use less butter, I cut it down to 4 Tbls and that was plenty. Oh and be sure to use the water chestnuts as they make the dish. Try this dish you will love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Calico Bean Casserole

See how to make a delicious bean and beef side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States