Calico Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Fantastic dish! The only change I made was to use equal amounts of zuccini. Other than that I did exactly as the recipe said. For those concerned about the prep time, practice. I had it done and ready for the oven in about the suggested time. That kinda suprised me looking at the number of ingredience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I served this on Christmas Day to a family that doesn't eat much squash or zucchini. It was easy to make and tasted great. The family ate up most of it and loved that it was something different from the usual green bean or spinach casserole. I used steam in the bag zucchini and squash to save a step of par boiling them and then cut them up into quarters. It is also a very attractive dish to serve with all the various colored vegetables in it. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Excellent casserole, was a huge hit at Thanksgiving. Amazed that all no-veggie people raved the most!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Delicious! We don't like mayo, so we left that out, but followed the directions besides that. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I just made a test recipe for Thanksgiving and this is my new squash dish. I added extra squash and zucchini as it looked like there was too much sauce for my original quantity of veggies. That may be what happened to you, Cristin. I did sautee the veggies in a little butter and olive oil. Added a little red pepper while sauteeing. Otherwise, made as directed. The dish came out better than expected. Five stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This dish is very good and the whole family loved it. I followed the recipe as given omitting the water chestnuts and pimentos since they weren't available at the time. I also sauteed the squash's and onions in a little olive oil rather than par boiling them. This is even better the next day. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Ruley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I have an AR cookbook with this recipe and have made this numerous times over the past few years. It is absolutely delicious! Very easy to adjust to ingredients on hand. I like to chop the water chestnuts. Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I made this the past several years for Thanksgiving. There is not a drop left and it is now a must have at our holiday table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
WOW! I made this multiple times this summer to "use up" all of the extra veggies we were getting from out crop share. Delicious every time. I even made an extra casserole and put it in the freezer. It bakes up just fine once it is thawed as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I modified quite a few things based on convenience. I used only zucchini. Used sour cream instead of mayo, dried basil instead of sage, a can diced chili instead of pimento, Italian cheese blend instead of chedder, and I omitted the cracker part entirely - just topped it with French's friend onions near the end of baking. Really good and different. Obviously...you can change around quite a few things and still get good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Calico Bean Casserole

See how to make a delicious bean and beef side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States