Calico Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Loved this casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I'm new to allrecipes.com & the first recipe I tried was the Calico Squash Casserole. I've never made a casserole with 16 ingredients. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I really loved this casserole! I sauteed the veggies instead of boiling them. I substituted crushed seasoned stuffing mix for the crackers. I didn't have the water chestnuts for crunch, so I left the carrots chunky and they gave a nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
We had mixed reviews in our house - I liked it, but my husband agreed with the negative reviewers. Anyway, I was wondering why we only had to heat the vegetables for 6 mins on medium heat, I thought that couldn't get them very soft....but, the firmness allows the vegies to have a perfect consistency in this dish. I was really worried when I saw that much pepper for this dish, it ended up tasting fine, but I'll probably tone it down to 1/4 teaspoon. This cooked for 30 mins. The water chestnuts added crunch, pimentos added color and the cheese was so good. I could see this being a risky dish if your husband is a meat and potatoes guy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This is an excellent way to use up squash. I left out the peppers and water chestnuts. Made some cornbread stuffing and mixed it with the left over crackers and added cheese. I should have added some corn. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollie Alder
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I prepared this to take to a labor day cook out. I was so embarrassed! The dish was like half cooked and runny. I followed the recipes exactly but this definately needs to cook longer and needs something to bind. Would not make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
This is a wonderul recipe! My fiance' begged me to make this a second time! I changed it up just a bit and used french fried onions for 1/4 of the crumb mixture and also cooked the veggies a bit longer than what it said. The only suggestion I would make is that you must prepare more time for prep. Prep is NOT 10 minutes, its more like 30 unless you buy all your veggies cut already! WONDERFUL RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I really enjoyed this dish. It did take a lot longer than 10 minutes to prepare but I think it was worth it. I followed the recipe exactly as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Wow thanks for sharing this recipe. Only thing I changes is I omitted the green onion because I don't like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Fantastic dish! The only change I made was to use equal amounts of zuccini. Other than that I did exactly as the recipe said. For those concerned about the prep time, practice. I had it done and ready for the oven in about the suggested time. That kinda suprised me looking at the number of ingredience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Calico Bean Casserole

See how to make a delicious bean and beef side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States