Calico Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Really enjoyed this dish! I did add a diced turkey kielbasa sausage for my carnivore family. :) The sausage, cheese, and crackers added a really nice flavor for the non-veggie fans in the family. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARANICOLE154

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA
Living In: North Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
This is the best! I have been making this for several years and always get asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
My new favorite squash casserole recipe! With a few small modifications, this is a 5 star recipe. On the suggestions of previous reviewers I eliminated the pimentos and increased the amount of squash. I sauteed the veggies rather than boiling them in water, and then put them in a colander lined with paper towels to let them drain really well for a couple of hours. I subbed out low-fat sour cream for mayo. For the topping, I used light butter and used reduced fat cheddar cheese. It turned out awesome! My boyfriend and I ate the entire pan of this over the course of 3 days, and still would happily have eaten more! I will be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
ive made this a few times and loved it! i only changed a few things... i left out the pimento peppers(not a fan), i used 2 cans of water chestnuts(i love the crunch), and i added extra squash, and made sure that the zucchini was the same amount as the squash. also, i use about 2 cloves of fresh minced garlic(lovvvve garlic) and added garlic salt instead of regular salt, i also add about a teaspoon of fresh ground peppercorn instead of white. i added about 1 1/2 cup shredded colby jack(dont like cheddar unless in cheesey potatoes), and i used 4 tablespoons of butter and a quarter cup of mayo. thats just way too much in my opinion, especially the mayo. i agree with a few comments that its too crumby, so i only make half the crumb mixture and put it on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimcest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bamberg, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
This was just okay in my book. Maybe if you add more squash to it, it would be better. Too much sauce for my taste, and not enough veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Yummy! Thanks for sharing! My family LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Loved this casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I'm new to allrecipes.com & the first recipe I tried was the Calico Squash Casserole. I've never made a casserole with 16 ingredients. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I really loved this casserole! I sauteed the veggies instead of boiling them. I substituted crushed seasoned stuffing mix for the crackers. I didn't have the water chestnuts for crunch, so I left the carrots chunky and they gave a nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
We had mixed reviews in our house - I liked it, but my husband agreed with the negative reviewers. Anyway, I was wondering why we only had to heat the vegetables for 6 mins on medium heat, I thought that couldn't get them very soft....but, the firmness allows the vegies to have a perfect consistency in this dish. I was really worried when I saw that much pepper for this dish, it ended up tasting fine, but I'll probably tone it down to 1/4 teaspoon. This cooked for 30 mins. The water chestnuts added crunch, pimentos added color and the cheese was so good. I could see this being a risky dish if your husband is a meat and potatoes guy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Calico Bean Casserole

See how to make a delicious bean and beef side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States