Calico Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
I found the recipe very flavorful (left out the pimentos), but short on squash and heavy on butter. I used three zucchini and three yellow squash (medium). I simmered the squash in olive oil, like other reviewers. I used one cup of crumbs with two tablespoons of margarine and just put it on the top. The family greatly preferred it to the original recipe. I never have enough GOOD vegetable casseroles and this one goes into the "keeper" collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
Made this for Thanksgiving--it was a big hit. This is the perfect holiday side dish as it is colorful,easy and delicious. Will definitely make again. I did saute the veggies in olive oil rather than boiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
This was a wonderful surprise recipe. My family raved over it, and it got more stellar comments from the potluck co-workers. Several asked for the recipe and intend to cook it for Thanksgiving. Although it's very involved with all the ingredients, the taste is well worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANAROYALE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2004
I made this for a staff potluck and EVERYONE wanted the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
Excellent recipe. Because I was out of them I made the following very acceptable substitutions: a can of drained corn in place of the water chestnuts, cream of celery soup in place of cream of mushroom soup and seasoned bread crumbs in place of the Ritz-type cracker crumbs. I used a 2-ounce jar of chopped pimentos and they added great color contrast. Next time I'll probably opt for the 4-ounce jar and leave out the carrots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chestertown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
Holy moly, was this ever good! I also skipped the boiling process, and sauteed the veggies until tender crisp. I also skipped the pimentos, as they didn't appeal to me, and I knew the kids would refuse to eat it. It was the best way we've used our zucchini so far. I would have eaten it as a main dish. My younger one wouldn't eat it, and my 9 yr old ate it, but didn't run for seconds. My husband and my mother both ate seconds and there was hardly anything left. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2004
Very Good!! I just sweated the veggies by themselves instead of using water,used soy margerine instead of butter, and a parm/mozz veggie cheese blend to cut out some calories...Add some chipotle tabasco on top too for a little kick...great..will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
If I could give this recipe 6 stars, I would! My 6-year-old and meat-n-potatoes husband both said it was "AWESOME". I too sauteed the step 1 items in olive oil instead of boiling and used fresh red bell pepper (about 2 ounces diced) instead of pimentos. Other than that, I wouldn't change a thing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
All in all, this was great! I did make a couple changes, though. Sauteed the veggies instead of boiling them so they had more of a crunch, as was sugessted by someone earlier, and I also used regular saltines instead of the ritz-type crackers and it was incredible. The pimentoes, when used in the correct amount, add a wonderful flavor. Also added 3 cloves of garlic to the sauteed veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2004
This recipe is pure deliciousness. I used fresh red bell pepper that I had on hand instead of pimientos, and used half the butter called for in the recipe to lighten it up a bit, and it was fabulous. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Calico Bean Casserole

See how to make a delicious bean and beef side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States