Calico Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
This recipe was absolutely fabulous, as usual I did not have some of the ingredients but this is a VERY forgiving recipe, I substituted broccoli florets for yellow squash and broccoli cheese soup for mushroom soup and added pkg saute'd sliced mushrooms also I had 2 ears of corn left over and sliced them off cob and added. my guests all but licked the dish!!! I used all of the crackers,but,put them only on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
This dish was exceptionally yummy! Even my non eating squash children loved it! I didn't have water chestnuts and pimentos on hand, and it still was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
This is seriously the best squash casserole I have ever tasted! It's really a wonderful and refreshing change from the usual, with lots of different ingredients. We served with grilled chicken and a green salad....delicious! Made exactly like the recipe said and it turned out great, wouldn't change a thing. A little labor intensive, but WELL worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FBURGAGGIE00

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
I have been using this recipe for 3 years. I do add 1 T. Italian seasoning and some extra squash. It is the BEST I have ever had, a bit labor intensive but worth the work!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
Great as a "side" for any get together. It's pretty rich so I generally serve with a fairly plain meat...such as grilled chicken. Sliced garden tomatoes complete the meal and everyone is thrilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Atoka, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
One word - AWESOME! A staple for the summer dinner table. This recipe uses much from the summer garden/farmer's market and packs a big punch. You have the great flavor and the bonus of the value of serving several healthy veggies in one appealing casserole. I have shared this with several friends and family members and it has received only raves. Stop what you are doing and add this one to your recipe box...it's a keeper! Note: To save time you can boil the veggies and seperately mix the wet ingredients the night before. The next day just combine and add the crackers and you can speed up the process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
This is soooo very good! Everyone loved it. I didn't have all ingredients on hand (pimentos and water chestnuts) I added fresh broccoli and cauliflower because I had them on hand. All the tastes blend together so well. We love cheese so I added a little more cheese... I'll be making this all summer! Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
Delicious! I've tried several different squash casserole recipes, but this is THE one! The small amount left tasted just as good the next night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
I followed the suggestion to saute the veggies in olive oil. This recipe is the greatest way I've ever found to fix my summer squashes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockport, Texas, USA
Living In: Keokuk, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
This casserole was excellent! For a lower fat/less rich version, I used margarine instead of butter, fat free yogurt instead of mayonnaise, and reduced fat/low sodium cream of mushroom soup. It made the recipe really great and much healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Calico Bean Casserole

See how to make a delicious bean and beef side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States