Calico Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
I chose this recipe because it had so many 5 star reviews. I was looking forward to a great-tasting dish, but I have to say I was disappointed. I thought this was very average which surprises me because I almost always agree with the reviews. My husband wasn't impressed either. Won't make this again. Sorry Meli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dreechrismom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
awesome! not the healthiest recipe but definately tasty. Didn't have pimento peppers but can see how they would add a lot. Cayan pepper worked well. Maybe next time I'll try bread crumbs mixed with crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
Great recipe. The pimentoes added a certain zing that other recipes I've tried were missing. I would recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
This was THE best squash casserole I've ever had. My husband couldn't say enough about it. The pimentos are a must as they add a great flavor to the dish. I added a little more squash than the recipe called for and cooked the veggies in olive oil rather than water. I also put a little more of the crumbs on the bottom. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
I have made this recipe twice and even people that said they hated squash have raved about it. I wouldn't change a thing.I have had to give out at least 8 copies of this already
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
Sorry, I just didnt think this was good at all. And the leftovers were even worse. I followed the recipe exactly and didnt think it had much flavor. I'll keep looking for a squash casserole recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
I took this to a pig roast, and while it was gone by the end of the night, I just didn't think it was anything spectacular. Don't get me wrong, it was good and I'm sure I'll use it again, it just doesn't jump out at you. Next time I make this I think I'll use a bit more squash and zucchini...probably 3 or 4 cups of squash and 2 or 3 of zucchini. It cooked down quite a bit and made the dish seem sort of thin. I might add more crackers too. That really added a nice yummy touch to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
This is an excellent recipe. But the prep time is all wrong, I just wondered how you got all this done in ten minutes? I would love for you to share your secret. This recipe takes me about 30 minutes to prepare, but it is well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
A definate jewel! What a great way to use up squash and zucchini. We loved this recipe! The flavors all meshed very well together. Loved the crunch from the water chestnuts and the hint of sage and let's not forget the cheese and butter cracker topping. Yum! This is a keeper in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
You know when I started making this, looking at the ingredients I was thinking "Boy, I must of been starving to pick this recipe!". I mean come on, mayonnaise? Cream of Mushroom soup? Crackers? Except for adding two lg. cucumber size yellow squash and one same size zucchini, I followed this recipe to a T. If this recipe tasted bad it wasn't going to be because of me! I guess that means I can't take credit for it tasting great! Man, it was delicious! My husband had 4 helpings of it and had more the next day! I'm glad I was starving when I picked this recipe and was willing to try something different. It was worth it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Calico Bean Casserole

See how to make a delicious bean and beef side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States