Calico Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by bd.weld
Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Although this slaw is packed with nutrients it lacked in dressing. I had to double the dressing with a little less sugar. If you want to impress company this colorful slaw will work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: May 22, 2013
We loved it--the simple dressing combined with the sweetness of the apples was delicious. I forgot to buy a green pepper, so I used red and yellow, and added some extra color with some chopped chives. This is fantastic with barbecue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
After reading the reviews, I doubled the dressing and it was great. Next time I will try a sugar substitute to decrease the calories a bit. Also, I used 1/2 head of red cabbage. I loved the colorful presentation. I will be bringing this to all my summer barbecue parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: May 6, 2013
This is a tough recipe for me to rate objectively. While I don't LOVE IT, as 5 stars would indicate, I DO love how nutrient dense it is for a low calorie return. Add to that the fact Mr. LTH said he "liked the slaw" and he HATES vinegar and it'll definately get repeat action at the LTH house. I did double the vinegar, but leave the sugar the same, as I wasn't sure 2T would coat. I messed up and bought broccoli slaw mix instead of the bagged cabbage and it worked out well. I think next time I'll sub a Granny Smith for the Golden Delicious. THANKS for such a good for us recipe, sandra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
healthy and delicious! Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
We loved this recipe! It made a huge bowl but the two of us made it through most of the bowl with brats as a main dish. I have very few leftovers. I used store shredded slaw and used 4 T cider and 3 T sugar since the mixture needed more liquid. This is a keeper! Thanks so much for sharing! It looks so good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Novelty, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
good but I liked it better when I added a half cup of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I've been making vinegar slaw for years, so this one isn't new to me, but I do like it. The colorful veggies really make a very nice presentation, and the apples give you a little pop of sweetness. I didn't think there was enough dressing, so I did double it and used Splenda instead of sugar. Nice side dish to start the new year when many of us are focusing on eating lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Chopped Cashew Salad

A colorful, crunchy salad loaded with good stuff like avocados, grapes, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States