Calico Cheese Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
EXCELLENT! I've made this a few times for get togethers and always get asked for the recipe. The important thing when making this is to wait to add everything together until just before serving. I also substitute cilantro for the parsley. It makes a HUGE difference. A little diced jalapeño adds a nice spice to it as well. LOVE THIS RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This was a hit! Will experiment with different veggies and vinegars and such.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clayzzle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Good but I made it better with some basic changes based on things I like when I mix my mexican delights! (seemed to Italian to me) I put in a 16oz. Sour Cream and nixed the Italian seasoning for a package of ranch dry dressing and a package of taco sesoning. Then to off set all that seasoning I add black beans, fresh cilantro (instead of parsley), red onion, Mexican cheese mix (instead of the MonJack), olives, green onions, tomatoes ( i have used fresh canned and ro-tel). Mix and chill...it goes over big! Any left overs can be served over lettuce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Millville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Yum! I've made this several times and everyone who's had it loves it. I use super sweet cherry tomatoes in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooksy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I tried this recipe for a family gathering and now I am asked to make it for EVERY get-together. I have never heard a complaint about it yet. The only thing I do different is to use Good Seasons "garlic & herb" dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I thought this was pretty good...personally I would probably give it 3 stars, but a lot of people at my party said they really liked it. I thought it was missing something; I might use salsa rather than plain tomatoes if I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lugoff, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Love this dip. I got the recipe from my sister-in-law a while back and it is a tad different. I just used cilantro instead parsley and Zesty Italian dressing mix. Either way this is a great recipe..sort of like a hybrid version of a salsa and tapenade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikol

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I made this without the dressing as it seemed moist enough without. Everyone LOVED it. I've already been asked to bring it to another party and its only been one month since I made it! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
With slight modifications, we loved this. I'm not a big olive fan, so I left them out. I subbed cilantro for the parsley, as others have. I didn't make the salad dressing as indicated on the package; to make it a little lower in fat, I added a little extra water and cut back to 2T oil. We also like things on the spicy side, so I chopped up a couple of tablespoons of roasted Hatch chiles I keep in the freezer for just such occasions. Hubby added even more to his own bowl! We will definitely be making this one again, and with even more spicy chile. The changes make it 5-star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This was a big hit at the tailgate party. My only substitution was a Mexican blend of cheeses rather than just jack cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States