Calico Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
Good recipe! Didn't change anything. Sweet and sour flavor. Pleasing to the eye too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
LOVE THIS! A friend brought these to a picnic we threw a few years back. She wouldn't give up the recipe, so I logged on and came across this. It is exact! I've been making ever since and everyone loves them. I also cut back on the sugar and add a bit more vinegar and mustard powder. I also usually leave out the celery, and use butter beans, cannellini beans, baked beans, and black beans. This is a bean dish, folks, it's supposed to be 'beany' and it's a side dish... Great at a barbecue for potluck. It is too sweet for a just a heaping bowl of it. It's best then next day, also. I am requested to bring this to many summer picnics. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reb&Rob

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
good stuff!! if you like the sweet/salty combination you will love this. I just used 1 can of kidney, 1 can butter and 1 can of pork n' beans and there was plenty of beans in it - no need for soo many beans! yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I have been looking for this recipe for years now and I found it! My mom used to make this, but like her other recipes, it was in her head and she is gone now (please write down your family favorites for your children). I saw other Calico Bean recipes but none of them where like hers. This one is perfect. I make it with dried beads (except for the Port and Beans) and it never lasts. A miracle since my family hates beans any other way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Liedel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
Easy, excellent, and inexpensive to prepare for a gathering. Always-- I take home an empty pot, and i double recipe for potlucks. (I take in a crock pot to keep warm.) Very pleasing to the plate and tummy! Will keep on making for years to come. A meal alone with a green salad!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Davis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
These are fantastic. I don't know anyone who can eat only one helping...very addicting. I prefer to make mine in the crockpot so they don't burn. The texture seems to be better as well this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
Excellent recipe. I loved it and I don't even like "regular" baked beans. I will make this often for picnics or large gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
With the exception of celery (none on hand) made recipe as written. Delicious with many requests for the recipe. Thank you for sharing, Kathy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabeth, Colorado, USA
Living In: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
This is the best recipe! I eat it alone as a meal. I make this at least once a week. Its a must try! We like to eat it cold too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2005
this is a all time favorite whenever I am going to a cook out I am asked to bring this, awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Rocket Beans

See how to make an amazing arugula, bacon, and butter bean side dish.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States